Friday, June 23, 2017

Book Tour & Giveaway: Rise of the Sea Witch by Stacey Rourke


Rise of the Sea Witch
Stacey Rourke
Publication date: June 19th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult


Synopsis: Details of the sea witch’s banishment have been exaggerated. The body count that preempted it was not. Once an illustrious princess, her hands and tentacles were stained with the blood of thousands. No one could comprehend how the hooks of madness dragged her down from her life of privilege.
Born Princess Vanessa of Atlantica, the ambitious young royal was one of two children born to the great King Poseidon. She and her brother, Triton, were groomed from birth to rule. Yet only one would ascend that coveted throne. While carefree Triton flits through his training with a cavalier demeanor and beguiling charm, Vanessa’s hunger for her father’s acceptance drives her to push herself to the limits of magic, and combat to become a leader worthy of her people.
When war against the humans ravages their once regal kingdom, political sides are chosen. Factions from the seven seas challenge the existing leadership, pitting Vanessa against her brother in a vicious battle for the crown. Traitors are exposed, dark family secrets revealed, and a once strong sibling bond is strained to its breaking point.
Only when the ink black waters from the ultimate betrayal rescind, will the truth be known of how the villainous sea witch rose with one name on her vengeful lips–Triton.
Excerpt
Flipping the end of that braid over my shoulder, I once again focused my attention on Triton. “Now, we don’t have time for you to change into fitting attire, but if we hurry we can still make it before the curtains to the Summit Room are drawn back.”
Popping up next to a nursing manatee, Triton rested his elbows on her back and cradled his chin in one palm. “You know, I hear other girls in the town square talking about which member of the Royal Guard they find to be the dreamiest. Are you capable of such musings?”
“Neleus’s name is mentioned often,” Alastor’s muffled voice came from behind the bull, who appeared to be smiling victoriously. “They say his eyes are as bright as freshly sprouted sea grass.”
I couldn’t have fought off that eye-roll if I tried to—which I didn’t bother. “Most girls aren’t contenders to the throne. Who I apprentice with is a crucial undertaking. If not directly with the Royal Guard, I need someone who can help me form solid relationships with Atlantica’s dignitaries. Triton, if you have any desire to be king, you’ll strive for the same.”
“That’s where you’re mistaken, dear sister!” Triton’s eyes twinkled mischievously. “I have no desire to rule today, tomorrow, or ever! By all means, give my regards to Father and his Council.”
Patience waning, I slapped my tail against the water. “Triton!”
If I showed up without my brother, I would be the brunt of Father’s fury. I would sooner fish-hook Triton’s cheek and drag him back to the palace flailing and kicking than to allow that to happen.
A grunt, a shove, and Alastor squirted out from behind the manatee. Tawny hair stabbed off his head in disheveled spikes, his amber eyes bulging. “What did I miss?”
Crossing my arms over my chest, I twisted my lips to the side in wry smirk. “Oh, nothing much, just Triton relinquishing all rights to the throne.”
“We haven’t even had breakfast,” Alastor mused, his lips pressed together in a thin line. “That seems like a big proclamation to make on an empty stomach.”
“Oh, but it’s true!” Throwing his arms out wide, Triton swan dived backwards. Calves scurried out of the way to avoid being clobbered by his back flip. “Vanessa can be Queen of Atlantica! I’ll be King of the Mana-minis!”
Finding himself face to snout with a calf, Triton caught it in his arms. Cradling its face in his hands, he puffed his cheeks and mimicked its expression. The mother of the calf scowled her disapproval and whacked Triton with her tailfin. Erupting in a fresh fit of giggles, he rolled away from the herd.
“Your subjects seem less than enthusiastic about this prospect,” Alastor pointed out to my slow-witted brother and playfully bumped my elbow with his.



Author Bio:
RONE Award Winner for Best YA Paranormal Work of 2012 for Embrace, a Gryphon Series Novel
Young Adult and Teen Reader voted Author of the Year 2012
Turning Pages Magazine Winner for Best YA book of 2013 & Best Teen Book of 2013
Readers’ Favorite Silver Medal Winner for Crane 2015
Stacey Rourke is the author of the award winning YA Gryphon Series, the chillingly suspenseful Legends Saga, and the romantic comedy Reel Romance Series. She lives in Michigan with her husband, two beautiful daughters, and two giant dogs. She loves to travel, has an unhealthy shoe addiction, and considers herself blessed to make a career out of talking to the imaginary people that live in her head.

XBTBanner1

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Review: Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer

Publication Date: April 4th, 2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury 
Genre: YA, Contemporary 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis:  Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother's death, she leaves letters at her grave. It's the only way Juliet can cope.

Declan Murphy isn't the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he's trying to escape the demons of his past.

When Declan reads a haunting letter left beside a grave, he can't resist writing back. Soon, he's opening up to a perfect stranger, and their connection is immediate. But neither Declan nor Juliet knows that they're not actually strangers. When life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, sparks will fly as Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart.


My Rating
5/5 stars

My Review
Letters to the lost gave me some serious feels. It was absolutely beautiful and very emotional. I can't even begin to tell you how much I loved this book.

Working long hours at the cemetery for his mandatory community service, Declan finds a letter on a grave. After reading it, he decides to write back. Furious about someone reading her letter to her dead mother, Juliet writes another letter addressing the anonymous writer. Soon the two start talking anonymously and opening up to each other about the difficulties they're facing, slowly helping one another face the challenges and work through their problems. The only problem is that they know each other in person, and they're not exactly a fan of one another. 

Oh my goodness, the characters, the storyline, everything was just perfect. I can't get over how good this book turned out. At first I was a bit iffy about the characters, they were both great characters but they did little things that made me mad, like how Juliet was very judgemental of Declan and how he couldn't understand that his step-father and mother were trying to help him (even though it wasn't in the best way). But their character development was mind blowing, they went from okay characters to these strong and intelligent characters that you end up falling in love with. These two really help each other be better people, even though they can't see it at first.

The story was really captivating. I started this book with a plan to read it slowly over a week, and I ended up reading it in two days. After I hit about 30% in, I could not put the book down. I don't know what it was exactly, but I just could not get myself to stop reading. I was so engrossed in it, that I had to finish the rest before I went to bed. There was lots of action, and some really great twists that even I didn't see coming.

After reading this book, I feel like I have to read more from this author. I highly recommend this book, even if you aren't a huge fan of contemporary. It will definitely hit you in the feels, and have you reading all night.

Happy Reading, 
Aneta 

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Book Blast & $100 Giveaway: Indigo Bay Sweet Romance Series


Escape to Indigo Bay…
Six authors. Six Sweet Romances. One small South Carolina beach town.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sweet Dreams by Stacy Claflin Ever since her twin became a singing sensation, Sky Hampton has struggled to be appreciated for who she is—apart from her sister. She wards off Aspen’s fans, who beg for autographs and selfies everywhere Sky goes. She can’t even find a guy who likes her for her. Sky flees to the small coastal town of Indigo Bay in hopes of blending in and building her blossoming career. Jace Fisher is the textbook definition of the strong silent type—nobody can break through his tough exterior. He has suffered more than his fair share of tragedies, and to protect his shattered heart, he pushes everyone away. Jace spends his days fixing the Indigo Bay cottages, and his nights… nobody really knows. He keeps to himself. When Jace shows up to fix Sky’s AC, he barely notices her and she’s distracted with settling in. It takes an emergency situation to get them talking, and when they do, the two find they have more in common than first appeared. As their attraction grows, defenses soar. Will they be able to risk love when they’ve both been burned in the past?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sweet Matchmaker by Jean Oram Ginger McGinty hates liars. And she just married a spy. Bridal shop owner Ginger McGinty excels at matchmaking unless it’s for herself. That is, until she meets the dreamy Aussie who helps her get into an event meant for engaged couples. Logan Stone is sweet, caring, thoughtful and fun—everything she desires in a man. But it turns out, her new fake fiancĂ© could use a bit more than just a pretend engagement to get him into parties—he needs a quick marriage keep him in the country so he can be with his adopted special needs daughter. With a marriage of convenience pro-con list longer than the average wedding veil, Ginger puts her faith in romance and offers Logan her hand in return for one thing—no lies. But little does she know, almost everything she knows about her new husband is based on a lie. Everything except his kisses and the way he accidentally spills his soul whenever they meet. And that’s quickly becoming a problem for Logan Stone who depends on distance and deceit to keep civilians such as Ginger safe from his enemy’s clutches. Will the two find love in their marriage of convenience, or will everything break apart when the truth rises to the surface, shattering everything, including their trust?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sweet Sunrise by Kay Correll Sometimes life has a way of teaching lessons whether you’re ready to learn them or not… The last place on earth Will Layton wants to be is Indigo Bay, but his younger sister needs him and he’s never been able to say no to her. But she left out a few details… like their father staying with her and the girl who dumped him years ago is living right next door. The last person Dr. Ashley Harden thought she’d see in Indigo Bay is Will Layton, but he’s back in town and just as irresistible as when they were young. Seeing Will again is a complication that isn’t on her carefully mapped out life plan. In spite of Ashley’s best intentions, she starts falling for Will again, but nothing has changed. She’s still focused on getting the townspeople to accept her and see her as more than the girl from the wrong side of town, while Will is determined to guard his heart at any cost. Not the easiest road to true love… especially when secrets from the past are revealed and history threatens to repeat itself.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sweet Illusions by Jeanette Lewis Eva Malone was very young when her mother forced the family to join a violent doomsday cult, but she remembers a little about how normal life used to be. As a young woman, she escapes the cult and relocates to Indigo Bay, South Carolina to pursue her dream of peaceful anonymity. After several tumultuous years as a policeman in Atlanta, Ben Andrews has had enough. He returns home to Indigo Bay and joins the Indigo Bay PD, where the most exciting part of the job is getting a kitten out of a tree or rescuing tourists who lose their keys at the beach. Eva and Ben are immediately drawn to each other. But as the prophesied date of the apocalypse draws near and the cult steps up its efforts to find her, Eva realizes she can’t maintain her sweet illusion forever.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~





Sweet Regrets by Jennifer Peel Melanie Dixon never thought she would find herself divorced, pregnant, and living back with her parents in Indigo Bay. Not one to let misfortune get the best of her, she picks up the broken pieces of her life and bit by bit puts them back together. She’s determined to go it alone, but her loving and equally determined family and friends have another idea. Enter Declan Shaw, the boy next door from long ago. The boy she wasn’t quite ready to commit forever to at eighteen. Back in Indigo Bay due to a recent job promotion, Declan sees this as a second chance to reunite with the girl who has owned his heart since the day they met in their junior year of high school. But Melanie is a tougher sell on the idea than he thought she would be. Now it’s up to him to prove to Melanie that she can trust him with her heart and that he’s the man she and her baby deserve. Will the regret and hurt of the past win out? Or will love prevail?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Sweet Rendezvous by Danielle Stewart On her last tank of gas Elaine Mathews drives South. Spontaneity had never been her strength, but there was something about being publicly fired that had a way of changing things. An empty bank account, broken heart, and enough humiliation to last a life time was all Elaine could claim as her own. Her car choked to a stop in the quiet beach town of Indigo Bay and all she could do was sit on the curb and wait for the sun to set on her misery. Davis Mills has a routine. Wake. Work. Eat. Sleep. Repeat. It hadn’t always been that way. He’d left indigo bay once and returned a broken man. Now he kept his dreams small and his schedule tight. If there was no room in his life for anything new then he’d never repeat his mistakes. When fate has them, quite literally colliding Elaine and Davis are faced with an important question. Can you live a full life if you never take a risk? Or is life made up of every mistake, miracle and chance that comes with being in love?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



$100 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway 
amazon or paypal
 Ends 7/17/17 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Waiting on Wednesday: Wicked Like A Wildfire by Lana Popovic

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: Hibiscus Daughter #1
Publication Date: August 15th, 2017
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ Book Depository 

Synopsis: All the women in Iris and Malina’s family have the unique magical ability or “gleam” to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. 

But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line—but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Review: Red Winter by Annette Marie

Series: Red Winter Trilogy #1
Publication Date: October 21st, 2016
Publisher: Dark Owl Fantasy Inc.
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis:  In a few short months, Emi's mortal life will end when she becomes the human host of an immortal goddess. Carefully hidden from those who would destroy her, she has prepared her mind, body, and soul to unite with the goddess—and not once has she doubted her chosen fate.

Shiro is a spirit of the earth and an enemy of the goddess Emi will soon host. Mystery shrouds his every move and his ruby eyes shine with cunning she can’t match and dares not trust. But she saved his life, and until his debt is paid, he is hers to command—whether she wants him or not.

On the day they meet, everything Emi believes comes undone, swept away like snow upon the winter wind. For the first time, she wants to change her fate—but how can she erase a destiny already wrought in stone? Against the power of the gods, Shiro is her only hope … and hope is all she has left.
My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
“Actions change our course, influence our futures, but intentions define us, empower us. Without intent, we are nothing.” 

Red Winter is an outstanding novel. Even though it had a rough beginning, the book ended up being absolutely amazing. Definitely worth it.

Emi is a kamigakari, soon Amaterasu will descend to Earth where Emi and Amaterasu will become one, sharing her body and helping heal the planet, at least thats what Emi has always believed. When Emi comes upon a book, telling her that when Amaterasu descends, she will destroy Emi's mind and soul, taking Emi's body for herself. 

The first time I started reading this book I ended up putting it down and forgetting about it. I didn't get very far, but I was already bored with the story and the characters. Emi was one of the worst main characters ever. She was selfish, annoying and extremely weak. She basically has no backbone, and lets everyone else talk her down and decide her future for her, its almost like she doesn't even think for herself. The part that really broke my heart was the fact that she became so obsessed with becoming the kamigakari that she completely ignored her parents, and didn't even realize that her mother was dying of cancer until it was too late. 

While the beginning of this story was lame, as soon as you meet Shiro, the kitsune the whole book basically changes. Shiro is one sexy fox. You instantly fall in love with him and his personality, he makes the story so much more interesting. The moment he enters the story theres action, theres adventure and the story takes off and becomes AMAZING.

The plot past this point gets really intense. Tons of action, new characters and you really get to see the rest of the world that Annette created, its captivating and absolutely beautiful. I want to take a moment to recognize how much work Annette Marie did for this book. She must have spent hours researching and planning, usually when authors write stories about other cultures they tend to mess it up, but Annette got the Japanese culture down perfectly, the history, the characters, it was all amazing. Annette did a fantastic job with this book.

Near the end of the story, I started warming up to Emi. I still don't really like her, but she's finally learning to take action into her own hands and she's fighting for her future. Her character development has gone very far already, but I'm hoping to see more in the future books.

Overall, I'm really impressed with Annette's writing style, and how much work she puts into her books. This would have been a 5 star book for me if it wasn't for the main character. I still highly recommend this book, especially if you love fantasy and/or Japanese culture. I can't wait to start book two.

Happy Reading,
Aneta 

Saturday, June 17, 2017

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten this past week.

From Netgalley
Starborn (Worldmaker #1) by Lucy Houndsom
Death and destruction will bar her way. . .

Kyndra's fate holds betrayal and salvation, but the journey starts in her small village. On the day she comes of age, she accidentally disrupts an ancient ceremony, ending centuries of tradition. So when an unnatural storm targets her superstitious community, Kyndra is blamed. She fears for her life until two strangers save her, by wielding powers not seen for an age - powers fuelled by the sun and the moon.

Together, they flee to the hidden citadel of Naris. And here, Kyndra experiences disturbing visions of the past, showing war and one man's terrifying response. She'll learn more in the city's subterranean chambers, amongst fanatics and rebels. But first Kyndra will be brutally tested in a bid to unlock her own magic.

If she survives the ordeal, she'll discover a force greater than she could ever have imagined. But could it create as well as destroy? And can she control it, to right an ancient wrong?

From Raincoast 
Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu
An unlikely teenager starts a feminist revolution at a small-town Texan high school in the new novel from Jennifer Matheiu, author of The Truth About Alice.

MOXIE GIRLS FIGHT BACK!

Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with a school administration at her small-town Texas high school that thinks the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes, hallway harassment, and gross comments from guys during class. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules.

Viv's mom was a tough-as-nails, punk rock Riot Grrrl in the '90s, and now Viv takes a page from her mother's past and creates a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She's just blowing off steam, but other girls respond. As Viv forges friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, she realizes that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution.

Moxie is a book about high school life that will make you wanna riot!

Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore
Love grows such strange things.

For nearly a century, the Nomeolvides women have tended the grounds of La Pradera, the lush estate gardens that enchant guests from around the world. They’ve also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But then, after generations of vanishings, a strange boy appears in the gardens.

The boy is a mystery to Estrella, the Nomeolvides girl who finds him, and to her family, but he’s even more a mystery to himself; he knows nothing more about who he is or where he came from than his first name. As Estrella tries to help Fel piece together his unknown past, La Pradera leads them to secrets as dangerous as they are magical in this stunning exploration of love, loss, and family.
 


Just Friends by Tiffany Pitcock
A new spin on the classic smart-girl-and-bad-boy setup, this witty contemporary romance shows how easily a friendship – even one built on an elaborate lie – can become so much more.

Jenny meets Chance for the very first time when she is assigned as his partner in their Junior Oral Communications class. But after they rescue a doomed assignment with one clever lie, the whole school is suddenly convinced that Little-Miss-Really-Likes-Having-A’s and the most scandalous heartbreaker in school have been best friends forever. It’s amazing how quickly a lie can grow―especially when you really, really want it to be the truth.

With Jenny, Chance can live the normal life he’s always kind of wanted. And with Chance, Jenny can have the exciting teen experiences that TV shows and movies have always promised. Through it all, they hold on to the fact that they are “just friends.” But that might be the biggest lie of all.

Debut author Tiffany Pitcock delivers a spot-on depiction of first love and the high school rumor mill in Just Friends, chosen by readers like you for Macmillan's young adult imprint Swoon Reads.

Traded with Erry
The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Bought
My Beautiful Struggle by Jordan Bone
One day everything changed for Jordan in a car accident. This is the inspiring true story of how a girl got her life back.

Aged 15, Jordan Bone got into a car with friends. She would never walk again. Paralysed from the chest down, her life was changed forever. Becoming depressed and feeling like life wasn't worth living, these weren't the teenage years that Jordan had envisaged.

However, slowly but surely, she began to get herself out of the darkness. With a little help from the internet, Jordan started to embrace positive thinking and embarked on a personal journey to get her confidence - and her life - back. Eleven years on from the accident, Jordan creates her own beauty tutorials on YouTube and has a range of successful brand partnerships. She has reclaimed her life and her independence and now wants to share her inspirational story with others and is telling it through different aspects of beauty. This isn't a book about looking good on the surface, this is a story of inner strength, believing in yourself and finding motivation when you feel like all hope is gone.

This last one is actually a gift for my mom, but lets be honest... I'm going to read it anyways :)
What did you guys get this week? Let me know in the comments.

Friday, June 16, 2017

Review: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

Series: Rebel of the Sands #2
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2017
Publisher: Fabel & Fabel 
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: This is not about blood or love. This is about treason.

Nearly a year has passed since Amani and the rebels won their epic battle at Fahali. Amani has come into both her powers and her reputation as the Blue-Eyed Bandit, and the Rebel Prince's message has spread across the desert - and some might say out of control. But when a surprise encounter turns into a brutal kidnapping, Amani finds herself betrayed in the cruellest manner possible.

Stripped of her powers and her identity, and torn from the man she loves, Amani must return to her desert-girl's instinct for survival. For the Sultan's palace is a dangerous one, and the harem is a viper's nest of suspicion, fear and intrigue. Just the right place for a spy to thrive... But spying is a dangerous game, and when ghosts from Amani's past emerge to haunt her, she begins to wonder if she can trust her own treacherous heart.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
Traitor to the Throne is a fantastic sequel. It's just as good as the first and it definitely won't disappoint.

As Amani is healing in the secret rebel camp, the Sultan's army finally finds them and the war begins. Brave Amani conjures a sand storm in order to get everyone out, but ends up getting caught, and brought to the Sultan. With pieces of steel placed inside of Amani, the Sultan can control everything she does. Amani once said that we need another spy in the palace, who knew it would be her.

First let me talk about the cover. What happened? The first cover was so pretty, this one is okay but it does not match the first one at all. I'm a bit disappointed. 

I love Amani so much. I instantly fell in love with her in the first book, and that definitely did not change in the sequel. Even though she loses her powers (her powers are just one of the reasons I think she's awesome), she kind of ends up going back to the Amani we got to know at the beginning of the first book. Before you say it, her character development is constantly growing, she does not go back, don't get that confused. 
One of the things I forgot to mention in my review of the first book, is how much I love Amani's friendship with Shazad. Shazad is one of my favourite characters as well, and the friendship the two share really reminds me of me and my best friend. The two grow even closer in this book, and I absolutely love reading about the two of them together.

Since Amani is in the castle for most of the book, we don't get to see much of Amani and Jin. But fear not people, there is no love triangle in this book. Amani only has eyes for Jin, and it makes me really love them as a couple. 

I wish I could have given this one 5 stars. I was very happy that the author decided to throw in more surprises and other things that I thought could have been improved in the first book, but unfortunately that left a very long middle part that I found a bit slow and boring. There wasn't as much action and adventure in this book, so there were a lot of parts that I had to put the book down and just had no motivation to read it.

Overall, this is one of my favourite series and I will definitely be waiting for the final book to come out next year. I highly recommend reading this one if you enjoyed the first book, if you haven't then check out Rebel of Sands first.

Happy Reading,
Aneta.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Cover Reveal: Off Planet by Aileen Erin


Off Planet
Aileen Erin
Published by: Ink Monster LLC
Publication date: November 28th 2017
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult

Synopsis: From USA Today Bestselling Author Aileen Erin
Maite Martinez has always yearned for more than waitressing in a greasy diner on the polluted ruins of planet Earth. Hiding her special abilities is a full-time job on its own, even with the government distracted by the mysterious alien race – the Aunare.
When a SpaceTech officer gets handsy with her, she reacts without thinking. Breaking his nose might not have been her smartest move. Now she’s faced with a choice: serious jail time working in a chain gang on a volcano planet or join the corporate army to fight against the impending war with the Aunare. It’s really no choice at all.
As with everything in her life, Maite quickly realizes that the war with the Aurnare isn’t what it seems. And Lorne, the Aunare prince, keeps popping up everywhere she goes. Being seen with him could get her in even deeper trouble with her commanders, but he’s the first person who sees through the wall she’s built around herself and she can’t bring herself to send him away.
When the situation between SpaceTech and the Aunare escalates, Maite has a way to end the war before it even begins. There’s only one question: Can she stop the total annihilation of humanity without getting herself killed in the process?


Author Bio:
Aileen Erin is half-Irish, half-Mexican, and 100% nerd–from Star Wars (prequels don’t count) to Star Trek (TNG FTW), she reads Quenya and some Sindarin, and has a severe fascination with the supernatural. Aileen has a BS in Radio-TV-Film from the University of Texas at Austin, and an MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. She lives with her husband in Los Angeles, and spends her days doing her favorite things: reading books, creating worlds, and kicking ass.

XBTBanner1

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: The Savage Dawn by Melissa Grey

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: The Girl at Midnight #3
Publication Date: July 11th, 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Press 
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ Book Depository

Synopsis: The sides have been chosen and the battle lines drawn. 

Echo awakened the Firebird. Now she is the only one with the power to face the darkness she unwittingly unleashed . . . right into the waiting hands of Tanith, the new Dragon Prince. Tanith has one goal in mind: destroy her enemies, raze their lands, and reign supreme in a new era where the Drakharin are almighty and the Avicen are nothing but a memory.

The war that has been brewing for centuries is finally imminent. But the scales are tipped. Echo might hold the power to face the darkness within the Dragon Prince, but she has far to go to master its overwhelming force. And now she’s plagued by uncertainty. With Caius no longer by her side, she doesn’t know if she can do it alone. Is she strong enough to save her home and the people she loves? 

Whether Echo is ready to face this evil is not the question. The war has begun, and there is no looking back. There are only two outcomes possible: triumph or death.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Cover Reveal: The Dark Lands by Christina Bauer


The Dark Lands
Christina Bauer
Series: Angelbound Origins #5
Published by: Monster House Books
Publication date: September 25th 2018
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult

Synopsis: Nineteen-year-old Myla Lewis is loving life—she’s now a wife, mother, and Queen of the Thrax. Oh yeah, and being a super-powerful demigoddess who moves souls into Heaven or Hell doesn’t suck, either. In fact, everything is pretty much awesome. Until something craptastic happens.
Her honorary older brother Walker enters the Dark Lands, home to the rule-loving ghouls, and vanishes without a trace.
Now it’s up to Myla to solve the mystery of Walker’s disappearance. Of course, Myla likes interacting with ghouls about as much as elective dental surgery. To make matters harder, everyone thinks that Walker is simply taking a well-deserved vacation. But Myla and her Angelbound love, Lincoln, both suspect that the ghoul Oligarchy took Walker in order to somehow release Lucifer, the ex-King of the Angels and an all around nut job who really needs to stay locked up.
Long story short, Myla and Lincoln have just two days to rescue their good friend and stop Lucifer from taking over the after-realms. Even for them, this may be a too-tall order, especially when Myla’s own father allows his past friendship with Lucifer to threaten Walker’s future.
Previous books in the series:


Author Bio:
Christina Bauer knows how to tell stories about kick-ass women. In her best selling Angelbound series, the heroine is a part-demon girl who loves to fight in Purgatory’s Arena and falls in love with a part-angel prince. This young adult best seller has driven more than 500,000 ebook downloads and 9,000 reviews on Goodreads and retailers.
Bauer has also told the story of the Women’s March on Washington by leading PR efforts for the Massachusetts Chapter. Her pre-event press release—the only one sent out on a major wire service—resulted in more than 19,000 global impressions and redistribution by over 350 different media entities including the Associated Press.
Christina graduated from Syracuse University’s Newhouse School with BA’s in English along with Television, Radio, and Film Production. She lives in Newton, MA with her husband, son, and semi-insane golden retriever, Ruby.
Be the first to know about new releases from Christina by signing up for her newsletter: http://tinyurl.com/CBupdates

XBTBanner1

Cover Reveal: Gate of Air by Resa Nelson


Gate of Air
Resa Nelson
Series: Dragon Gods #1
Publication date: July 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Synopsis: Frayka must find and convince the dragon gods of the Far East to appease the gods of her Northland heritage. If she fails, her own Northlander gods will destroy all the mortals who once promised to worship them.
The Far East is a mysterious place of legend to Northlanders like Frayka. Only an old map can show her how to get there. Once she arrives, all of Frayka’s sensibilities put her in danger. And every dangerous turn delays her from finding the dragon gods whose help she so desperately needs.
Although Frayka looks like a Far Easterner, she is a powerful Northlander warrior who is quick to voice her thoughts. She is trained to fight and won’t hesitate to do so.
But everything about Frayka puts her in deadly peril in the Far East, where the laws are strict and the punishment cruel.
Especially when the one being punished is a woman.


Author Bio:
Resa Nelson is the author of the 4-book Dragonslayer series: The Dragonslayer’s Sword (nominated for the Nebula Award, finalist for the EPPIE Award), The Iron Maiden , The Stone of Darkness , and The Dragon's Egg . Her 4-book Dragonfly series takes place after the Dragonslayer series.
Her standalone novels include the mystery/thrillers All Of Us Were Sophie and Our Lady of the Absolute .
Resa has been selling short stories professionally since 1988. She is a longtime member of SFWA (Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America), and she is a graduate of the Clarion SF Workshop. Resa was the TV/Movie Columnist for Realms of Fantasy magazine for 13 years as well as a regular contributor to SCI FI magazine. She has sold over 200 articles to magazines in the United States and the United Kingdom.

XBTBanner1

Monday, June 12, 2017

Review: Starfall by Melissa Landers

Series: Starflight #2
Publication Date: February 7th, 2017
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion 
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: When Princess Cassia Rose fled her home world of Eturia to escape an arranged marriage, she had no idea her sudden departure would spark a war. Now after two years hiding as a ship hand, she is finally returning to her beloved home, but not in the way she imagined. Shackled by bounty hunters, she is violently dragged back to account for her crimes. Her only solace is that the Banshee crew managed to evade capture, including Kane Arric, her best friend...with occasional benefits.

Meanwhile, Kane and the rest of the crew of the Banshee plan a desperate rescue mission. But when they arrive on Eturia, Cassia isn't exactly in need of heroics—she's claimed her birthright as Eturia's queen, but has inherited a war-torn planet simmering with rebellion. Cassia must make alliances, and Kane, the bastard son of a merchant, isn't a choice that will earn her any friends. Kane knows he will never find someone to replace Cassia—and is certain she returns his feelings—but how can he throw away his own promising future waiting on a queen?

When the outer realm is threatened by the dangerous Zhang mafia, Cassia, Kane and the rest of the Banshee crew uncover a horrifying conspiracy that endangers the entire universe. In the face of unspeakable evil, Cassia must confront her own family's complicated legacy on Eturia and decide once and for all who her real family is.

My Rating
3/5 stars

My Review

“The truth hurt more than lies.” 

I've been so impressed with Melissa Landers' books in the past, with Starflight being my favourite, but this book was nothing close to her best. The characters weren't as good, the romance was annoying, and the plot had great potential, but unfortunately didn't deliver. 

Starflight was my favourite book for the two main characters, and the action packed plot. I absolutely loved Doran and Solara. Their romance, back story, character development... just everything about them was perfect. I was so excited to seem them in this book, but they were barely in it. They showed up here and there, but when they did, they barely had any dialogue, and most of the time they were just "sent off" to do some other task.

I didn't mind Cassia and Kane in the first book, but having the whole book focused around them got annoying really fast. This romance was a lot different than the author's usual books. The characters have already known each other, and been in love for a long time rather than meeting during the first half of the book. Even though I knew that Cassia and Kane would end up together by the end of the book, their romance got so annoying that I started shipping the other guy in the love triangle... And yes, unfortunately this book has one. Throughout the whole book the two main characters go back and forth between hating each other, loving each other, one person hating, while the other person in love, and vice versa. It gets so boring, so quickly, I honestly wouldn't be surprised if a bunch of people gave up on this book because of it.

The plot behind this story was okay. It could have really been improved with some minor tweaking. We don't experience the intense action like we did in book one until the climax of the story. The plot before that had a bit of action but not enough to keep you wanting more, and stay up super late reading.

I was going to give this book two stars, but I decided on three due to the ending. This book does have a very good ending, and I'm happy with the way it ended. It was a fantastic ending to the duology.

With the slow plot, annoying main characters, and not including my favourite characters, I sadly didn't enjoy the book. While I love the world that Melissa Landers created in this series, I honestly don't know if its worth reading this one. Definitely read the first book in the series, and only read this one if you really liked Cassie and Kane.

Happy Reading,
Aneta.

Saturday, June 10, 2017

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten this past week.

Bought
Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) by Cassandra Clare
Would you trade your soul mate for your soul?

A Shadowhunter’s life is bound by duty. Constrained by honor. The word of a Shadowhunter is a solemn pledge, and no vow is more sacred than the vow that binds parabatai, warrior partners—sworn to fight together, die together, but never to fall in love.

Emma Carstairs has learned that the love she shares with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, isn’t just forbidden—it could destroy them both. She knows she should run from Julian. But how can she when the Blackthorns are threatened by enemies on all sides?

Their only hope is the Black Volume of the Dead, a spell book of terrible power. Everyone wants it. Only the Blackthorns can find it. Spurred on by a dark bargain with the Seelie Queen, Emma; her best friend, Cristina; and Mark and Julian Blackthorn journey into the Courts of Faerie, where glittering revels hide bloody danger and no promise can be trusted. Meanwhile, rising tension between Shadowhunters and Downworlders has produced the Cohort, an extremist group of Shadowhunters dedicated to registering Downworlders and “unsuitable” Nephilim. They’ll do anything in their power to expose Julian’s secrets and take the Los Angeles Institute for their own.

When Downworlders turn against the Clave, a new threat rises in the form of the Lord of Shadows—the Unseelie King, who sends his greatest warriors to slaughter those with Blackthorn blood and seize the Black Volume. As dangers close in, Julian devises a risky scheme that depends on the cooperation of an unpredictable enemy. But success may come with a price he and Emma cannot even imagine, one that will bring with it a reckoning of blood that could have repercussions for everyone and everything they hold dear.

From netgalley
The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King
As an orphan ward of the Sisterhood, eighteen-year-old Kalinda is destined for nothing more than a life of seclusion and prayer. Plagued by fevers, she’s an unlikely candidate for even a servant’s position, let alone a courtesan or wife. Her sole dream is to continue living in peace in the Sisterhood’s mountain temple.

But a visit from the tyrant Rajah Tarek disrupts Kalinda’s life. Within hours, she is ripped from the comfort of her home, set on a desert trek, and ordered to fight for her place among the rajah’s ninety-nine wives and numerous courtesans. Her only solace comes in the company of her guard, the stoic but kind Captain Deven Naik.

Faced with the danger of a tournament to the death—and her growing affection for Deven—Kalinda has only one hope for escape, and it lies in an arcane, forbidden power buried within her.

In Emily R. King’s thrilling fantasy debut, an orphan girl blossoms into a warrior, summoning courage and confidence in her fearless quest to upend tradition, overthrow an empire, and reclaim her life as her own.


Trade with Chelsea 
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil's name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does or does not say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.



Borrowed from Kristie 
Alex & Eliza by Melissa De La Cruz
Their romance shaped a nation. The rest was history.

1777. Albany, New York.

As battle cries of the American Revolution echo in the distance, servants flutter about preparing for one of New York society’s biggest events: the Schuylers’ grand ball. Descended from two of the oldest and most distinguished bloodlines in New York, the Schuylers are proud to be one of their fledgling country’s founding families, and even prouder still of their three daughters—Angelica, with her razor-sharp wit; Peggy, with her dazzling looks; and Eliza, whose beauty and charm rival that of both her sisters, though she’d rather be aiding the colonists’ cause than dressing up for some silly ball.

Still, she can barely contain her excitement when she hears of the arrival of one Alexander Hamilton, a mysterious, rakish young colonel and General George Washington’s right-hand man. Though Alex has arrived as the bearer of bad news for the Schuylers, he can’t believe his luck—as an orphan, and a bastard one at that—to be in such esteemed company. And when Alex and Eliza meet that fateful night, so begins an epic love story that would forever change the course of American history.
 


Dark Breaks the Dawn by Sara B. Larson
On her eighteenth birthday, Princess Evelayn of Eadrolan, the Light Kingdom, can finally access the full range of her magical powers. The light looks brighter, the air is sharper, and the energy she can draw when fighting feels almost limitless.

But while her mother, the queen, remains busy at the war front, in the Dark Kingdom of Dorjhalon, the corrupt king is plotting. King Bain wants control of both kingdoms, and his plan will fling Evelayn onto the throne much sooner than she expected.

In order to defeat Bain and his sons, Evelayn will quickly have to come into her ability to shapeshift, and rely on the alluring Lord Tanvir. But not everyone is what they seem, and the balance between the Light and Dark comes at a steep price.

What did you guys get this week? Let me know in the comments.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...