Saturday, October 21, 2017

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten this past week.

From Raincoast
Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe by Melissa De La Cruz
Darcy Fitzwilliam is 29, beautiful, successful, and brilliant. She dates hedge funders and basketball stars and is never without her three cellphones—one for work, one for play, and one to throw at her assistant (just kidding). Darcy’s never fallen in love, never has time for anyone else’s drama, and never goes home for Christmas if she can help it. But when her mother falls ill, she comes home to Pemberley, Ohio, to spend the season with her dad and little brother.

Her parents throw their annual Christmas bash, where she meets one Luke Bennet, the smart, sardonic slacker son of their neighbor. Luke is 32 and has never left home. He’s a carpenter and makes beautiful furniture, and is content with his simple life. He comes from a family of five brothers, each one less ambitious than the other. When Darcy and Luke fall into bed after too many eggnogs, Darcy thinks it’s just another one night stand. But why can’t she stop thinking of Luke? What is it about him? And can she fall in love, or will her pride and his prejudice against big-city girls stand in their way?



From Thomas Allen & Son
Brooding YA Hero by Carrie DiRisio
Have you ever wished you could receive a little guidance from your favorite book boyfriend? Ever dreamed of being the Chosen One in a YA novel? Want to know all the secrets of surviving the dreaded plot twist?

Or maybe you're just really confused about what "opal-tinted, luminous cerulean orbs" actually are?

Well, popular Twitter personality @broodingYAhero is here to help as he tackles the final frontier in his media dominance: writing a book. Join Broody McHottiepants as he attempts to pen Brooding YA Hero: Becoming a Main Character (Almost) as Awesome as Me, a "self-help" guide (with activities--you always need activities) that lovingly pokes fun at the YA tropes that we roll our eyes at, but secretly love. 

As his nefarious ex, Blondie DeMeani, attempts to thwart him at every turn, Broody overcomes to detail, among other topics, how to choose your genre, how to keep your love interest engaged (while maintaining lead character status), his secret formula for guaranteed love triangle success, and how to make sure you secure that sequel, all while keeping his hair perfectly coiffed and never breaking a sweat.


All the Wind in the World by Samantha Mabry
Sarah Jacqueline Crow and James Holt work in the vast maguey fields that span the bone-dry Southwest, a thirsty, infinite land that is both seductive and fearsome. In this rough, transient landscape, Sarah Jac and James have fallen in love. They’re tough and brave, and they have big dreams. Soon they will save up enough money to go east. But until then, they keep their heads down, their muscles tensed, and above all, their love secret.

When a horrible accident forces Sarah Jac and James to start over on a new, possibly cursed ranch called the Real Marvelous, the delicate balance they’ve found begins to give way. And James and Sarah Jac will have to pay a frighteningly high price for their love.
 




Spliced by Jon McGoran
In this gripping sci-fi thriller, genetically altered teens fight for survival in a near-future society that is redefining what it means to be human.
Sixteen-year-old Jimi knows people change, but nothing could prepare her for what’s about to happen to her best friend, Del. Del is obsessed with becoming a chimera (ki-mir-a): a person who pays back-alley geneticists, known as ""genies,"" to illegally splice animal genes into their own. The resulting physical changes have scared lawmakers into drafting legislation declaring chimeras officially nonpersons—so when Del goes missing, Jimi is desperate to find him before he alters himself forever.
As she tries to save him, Jimi must face down unscrupulous people and risk her own life—all while knowing that if getting spliced is the choice Del has made, it means he’s leaving her behind forever.
 

What did you guys get this week? Let me know in the comments.

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Book Tour & Review: The Midnight Dance by Nikki Katz


The Midnight Dance
Nikki Katz
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: October 17th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Synopsis: When the music stops, the dance begins.
Seventeen-year-old Penny is a lead dancer at the Grande Teatro, a finishing school where she and eleven other young women are training to become the finest ballerinas in Italy. Tucked deep into the woods, the school is overseen by the mysterious and handsome young Master who keeps the girls ensconced in the estate – and in the only life Penny has never known.
But when flashes of memories, memories of a life very different from the one she thinks she’s been leading, start to appear, Penny begins to question the Grand Teatro and the motivations of the Master. With a kind and attractive kitchen boy, Cricket, at her side, Penny vows to escape the confines of her school and the strict rules that dictate every step she takes. But at every turn, the Master finds a way to stop her, and Penny must find a way to escape the school and uncover the secrets of her past before it’s too late.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
This book definitely needs to be made into a movie.

Penny can't remember who she really is. How strange is it that she can't remember her favourite meal, and all the girls at Grade Teatro have a similar memory of who their mother was and why they ended up there. The only thing that the girls can remember is their dance routine, and that they must never disobey the Master. When Penny's memories start to return, she is desperate to keep them, and find out more about who she really was before she became trapped in this mansion.

I was hooked right from the beginning, the action starts right away and it is very easy to understand the concept of whats going on, which makes the book very pleasurable to read. The writing in this book is so beautiful and I love the way the author wrote descriptions, dialogue and the speed of the plot.

I fell in love with Penny right from the beginning. You can tell how strong of a character she is, when Master can't fully control her mind. Her desperation to find the truth and free the other girls was so wonderful to read about, I definitely love these types of main characters who do things not just for themselves, but to save others. 

Part of the story in this book takes place in the past, as we see how Master became the person that he is today and why. While I thought this was really interesting in the beginning, it kind of fell short for me around the middle and I just got bored with this side of the story. I thought it could have been a bit more interesting, and maybe a tad more explained. I would have loved to see more of the science theory that they had behind the mind control and such.

Overall, this was a really beautiful book. I will definitely be picking up more from this author because I loved her writing style. If you've read the synopsis and you think you'd enjoy it then definitely give it a try.

Happy Reading,
Aneta


Author Bio:
Nikki Katz is an author and editor living in sunny San Diego with her three children. With a BS in aerospace engineering, Nikki first put her writing skills to use publishing four nonfiction books. She moved on to writing young adult fiction, her favorite genre to read as well. The Midnight Dance is her debut novel.




XBTBanner1

Waiting on Wednesday: Batman: Nightwalker


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: DC Icons #2
Publication Date: January 2nd 2018
Publisher: Random House Book for Young Readers 
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A reckless boy willing to break the rules for a girl who may be his worst enemy.

The Nightwalkers are terrorizing Gotham City, and Bruce Wayne is next on their list.

One by one, the city's elites are being executed as their mansions' security systems turn against them, trapping them like prey. Meanwhile, Bruce is turning eighteen and about to inherit his family's fortune, not to mention the keys to Wayne Enterprises and all the tech gadgetry his heart could ever desire. But after a run-in with the police, he's forced to do community service at Arkham Asylum, the infamous prison that holds the city's most brutal criminals.

Madeleine Wallace is a brilliant killer . . . and Bruce's only hope.

In Arkham, Bruce meets Madeleine, a brilliant girl with ties to the Nightwalkers. What is she hiding? And why will she speak only to Bruce? Madeleine is the mystery Bruce must unravel. But is he getting her to divulge her secrets, or is he feeding her the information she needs to bring Gotham City to its knees? Bruce will walk the dark line between trust and betrayal as the Nightwalkers circle closer.

Monday, October 16, 2017

Review: Windwitch by Susan Dennard

Series: The Witchlands #2
Publication Date: January 10th 2017
Publisher: Tor Teen
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Sometimes our enemies are also our only allies…

After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred yet alive, Merik is determined to prove his sister’s treachery. Upon reaching the royal capital, crowded with refugees, he haunts the streets, fighting for the weak—which leads to whispers of a disfigured demigod, the Fury, who brings justice to the oppressed.

When the Bloodwitch Aeduan discovers a bounty on Iseult, he makes sure to be the first to find her—yet in a surprise twist, Iseult offers him a deal. She will return money stolen from him, if he locates Safi. Now they must work together to cross the Witchlands, while constantly wondering, who will betray whom first?

After a surprise attack and shipwreck, Safi and the Empress of Marstok barely escape with their lives. Alone in a land of pirates, every moment balances on a knife’s edge—especially when the pirates’ next move could unleash war upon the Witchlands.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
I love love love this series so much. I forgot how good it was until I picked up this book. The characters, the world, everything is just so wonderful.

Prince Merik should be dead, but he isn't. While he's badly burned to the point where its hard for people who didn't know him to recognize his face, Merik can successfully lead his own mission to determine it was his sister behind the attack on his boat.
Iseult is on the run, and her best way of staying alive is to align herself with the Bloodwitch, who just happens to be hunting her for the bounty on her head. Iseult is able to strike a deal with him, for him to help her get back to Safi.
Safi is a prisoner of the Empress, but when a surprise attack occurs on the Empress's ship, Safi and the Empress are barely able to escape, unfortunately the two escape right into the very people who have been hunting Safi for hiding her truth witchery. 

This book was very different than the first book. While the first book focused a lot on friendship and romance, this book was more focused on character development. I really liked both books equally, but this book just felt like it was missing out on the Safi Iseult friendship, and the first book was missing out on the character development too much. I'm really hoping the next book has both aspects, which will definitely make me love this series even more.

I wasn't too keen on reading Merik's point of view. While it was really different and filled with lots of action and development, I kind of found him to be very stubborn to the point of being annoying and selfish. His part of the ending definitely earned my respect, and made up for the not so good beginning to his side of the story. Hopefully the next part is a bit more interesting in the next book.

I liked Safi's point of view. While it wasn't anything too crazy, Safi has a way of making the reader laugh with her funny one liners and her part of the story was definitely the comedic relief of the story. I did like her by herself, but it would have been so much better if she was with Iseult, I felt like her part of the story would have been even funnier and more entertaining.

I absolutely loved Iseult and Aeduan's story. I wasn't a huge fan of the bloodwitch in the first book, I liked him but I didn't love him. My feelings definitely changed in this book, he easily became on the best characters in this book, and his personality and honour really have me admire him. I thought his and Iseult's story was the most action filled and kept me engaged the most out of all three storylines. I can't wait to read more from these two.

Overall, I enjoyed the story. I liked it just as much as Truthwitch, although I think both books could be a lot better with minor tweaking. I can't wait to read the next book.

Happy Reading,
Aneta 

Friday, October 13, 2017

Author Interview: The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli

Series: Iskara #1
Publication Date: October 3rd 2017
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis:
 In the beginning, there was the Namsara: the child of sky and spirit, who carried love and laughter wherever he went. But where there is light, there must be dark—and so there was also the Iskari. The child of blood and moonlight. The destroyer. The death bringer. 

These are the legends that Asha, daughter of the king of Firgaard, has grown up hearing in hushed whispers, drawn to the forbidden figures of the past. But it isn’t until she becomes the fiercest, most feared dragon slayer in the land that she takes on the role of the next Iskari—a lonely destiny that leaves her feeling more like a weapon than a girl.

Asha conquers each dragon and brings its head to the king, but no kill can free her from the shackles that await at home: her betrothal to the cruel commandant, a man who holds the truth about her nature in his palm. When she’s offered the chance to gain her freedom in exchange for the life of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard, she finds that there may be more truth to the ancient stories than she ever could have expected. With the help of a secret friend—a slave boy from her betrothed’s household—Asha must shed the layers of her Iskari bondage and open her heart to love, light, and a truth that has been kept from her.

If you haven't yet, check out my review of this book here.

Interview with Kristen 

Hello Kristen, thank you so much for joining me here on Angelic Book Reviews. I'm so excited to ask you a few questions about The Last Namsara, I've just recently finished it and I absolutely loved it!

My first question for you, is how did you select the names of your characters?

It depends. Sometimes, a name just comes to me. It just feels right. Like Roa. Or Lirabel. Sometimes it hints at something about the character like Dax. And sometimes something has been a name for a character for so long (like Torwin) I can't even remember how or why I chose it.

How did you come up with the idea for The Last Namsara?

I spent a good chunk of my life being ashamed of myself and the things I love most: creativity, imagination, and storytelling. So when I started writing The Last Namsara, I wanted to give that shame to my protagonist. But in order for her to be deeply ashamed of the old stories she tells, I needed here to be a concrete reason for why these stories were dangerous. So I decided that they would lire deadly dragons!

I had no idea this book had such a deep meaning for you, it makes me enjoy it so much more! 
Has the story changed since you started writing?

It's changed quite a lot. I started writing a very early version of this story when I was 17! That version is completely different from what it is now, though. The biggest difference is that while there were dragons in that version, Asha didn't hunt them.

Who was your favourite author, and why?

Patricia McKillip. I grew up in a time where YA wasn't really a category yet, so I read a lot of adult fantasy. Her book, The Forgotten Beasts of Eld, is my most read book. I've probably read it more than a dozen times, and every time I love it as much as the first time. Also: she's totally mysterious. She isn't only, nor does she have author photos in the backs of any of her books. I love that.

That sounds amazing. I've never read her work, but I love how she's managed to keep sort of an anonymous profile.
For our last question, can you tell us what we can expect in the upcoming books?

You can expect more Asha, more dragons, but also way more of two supporting characters: Roa and Safire. The Caged Queen comes out next fall and picks up right where The Last Namsara leaves off, only from Roa's point of view. So you get to finally lean who this mysterious character is and why she does what she does in book one.

That description has made me so excited to read book two. I absolutely adore Safire, and I'm really excited to find out more about Roa.
Thank you so much for joining me today Kristen, and answering all of my questions. Congratulations f publishing The Last Namsara, I can't wait to continue reading this series.

About Kristen:
Kristen Ciccarelli hails from Ontario’s Niagara Peninsula where she grew up on her grandfather’s grape farm. She spent her childhood running wild with her cousins, adventuring in the woods, building forts in the barn, and obsessing over books, dragons, and girls wielding really cool weapons. Visit her at kristenciccarelli.com.

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Review: All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater

Publication Date: October 10th 
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Here is a thing everyone wants: 
A miracle.

Here is a thing everyone fears:
What it takes to get one.


Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, miracle-mad owls, estranged affections, one or two orphans, and a sky full of watchful desert stars.

At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. And at the heart of this family are three cousins longing to change its future: Beatriz, the girl without feelings, who wants only to be free to examine her thoughts; Daniel, the Saint of Bicho Raro, who performs miracles for everyone but himself; and Joaquin, who spends his nights running a renegade radio station under the name Diablo Diablo.

They are all looking for a miracle. But the miracles of Bicho Raro are never quite what you expect.

Maggie Stiefvater has been called “a master storyteller” by USA Today and “wildly imaginative” by Entertainment Weekly. Now, with All the Crooked Saints, she gives us the extraordinary story of an extraordinary family, a masterful tale of love, fear, darkness, and redemption.

My Rating
3/5 stars

My Review
All the Crooked Saints is a beautiful story about a family of saints and the miracles they help perform. While I really loved the idea of this story, it had a very slow beginning and a few annoying characters that made the book less enjoyable.

If you need a miracle, come to Bicho Raro, a Colorado town that takes in any pilgrim that needs help. The twist is that once the saint performs the miracle, your darkness comes to life and you must perform the second miracle yourself. The saints are not allowed to interfere or help the pilgrims with the second miracle, otherwise their own darkness manifests, and its always worse than those of any pilgrim. When Daniel Soria helps a pilgrim named Marisita, he must leave town to ensure that no other Soria will try to help him. His two cousins, Beatriz and Joaquin try to use their illegal radio station to try to reach out to their cousin and find him before its too late.

Let me start off by saying, the beginning of this book was really slow and painful. We get to know the main characters, the rest of the family, and a lot of pilgrims. There are so many characters in this small town that it was really hard to remember who everyone was in the beginning. There was absolutely no action or anything very engaging, so it was basically half of a book of just descriptions and a bit of dialogue. Finally about half way in, once Daniel leaves the town the action picks up and we finally get into the real plot of the story. At this point I actually started to enjoy the book a lot, and started to like the characters a lot more. So if you end up picking up a copy of this book and don't like it in the beginning, just keep reading because it definitely gets better.

There was a few characters I loved from the very beginning, such as Beatriz, Daniel, Pete, and a few of the pilgrims. Then there were the creepy/weird pilgrims such as the priest guy (don't remember his name) the snake twins, and Marisita. There were also Sorias that I didn't like, which were Joaquin and Beatriz's sister and her husband. 
Beatriz is a strong and independent woman right from the beginning. She's really intelligent, and hard working (when it comes to doing things she likes) and she always knows the right thing to say. Although she seems perfect right from the start, she does go through huge character development, as she is able to eventually open up to people and show her emotions.
I thought I was going to love Joaquin from the beginning, but unfortunately the only time we see him in the book is when he is Diablo Diablo on the radio, it is very rare to see him outside of that setting, he just kind of disappears whenever daylight is out. I honestly would have loved to see more from him, especially some character development and more time in the story. 
While I loved Daniel's story, I absolutely hated his love interest Marisita. I wasn't a huge fan of her character in the beginning of the story, and I hoped that my feeling for her would change as the story went on, but unfortunately it didn't. I didn't really understand her miracle, especially her second miracle because it didn't feel like she did enough to overcome her darkness. I didn't feel like she had any character development either, she just stayed the same person throughout the whole book. 

While I loved the idea of Saints and miracles from this story, I think it could have been a lot better if there were some better characters or more character development, and the beginning wasn't so description filled and boring. If you love Maggie's writing then I'm sure you will like this one, so definitely try it out! 

Happy Reading,
Aneta

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Book Launch Tour: Wolves and Roses by Christina Bauer

Series: Fairy Tales of the Magicorum #1
Publication Date: October 31st 2017
Publisher: Monster House books LLC
Genre: YA, Fantasy
~ Goodreads ~

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Bryar Rose has a problem. She’s descended from one of the three magical races—shifters, fairies, or witches. That makes her one of the Magicorum, and Magicorum always follow a fairy tale life template. In Bryar’s case, that template should be Sleeping Beauty.

“Should” being the key word.

Trouble is, Bryar is nowhere near the sleeping beauty life template. Not even close. She doesn’t like birds or woodland creatures. She can’t sing. And she certainly can’t stand Prince Philpot, the so-called “His Highness of Hedge Funds” that her aunties want her to marry. Even worse, Bryar’s having recurring dreams of a bad boy hottie and is obsessed with finding papyri from ancient Egypt. What’s up with that? 

All Bryar wants is to attend a regular high school with normal humans and forget all about shifters, fairies, witches, and the curse that Colonel Mallory the Magnificent placed on her. And she might be able to do just that--if only she can just keep her head down until her eighteenth birthday when the spell that’s ruined her life goes buh-bye.

But that plan gets turned upside down when Bryar Rose meets Knox, the bad boy who’s literally from her dreams. Knox is a powerful werewolf, and his presence in her life changes everything, and not just because he makes her knees turn into Jell-O. If Bryar can’t figure out who—or what—she really is, it might cost both her and Knox their lives… as well as jeopardize the very nature of magic itself.

FAIRY TALES OF THE MAGICORUM
1. Wolves And Roses (Fall 2017)
1.5. Moonlight and Midtown (Spring 2018)
2. Shifters And Glyphs (Fall 2018)

Perfect for readers who love young adult books, contemporary fantasy, fairy tales, satire/comedy, paranormal romance, fairies, magic users, shapeshifters, and coming of age stories.


WOLVES AND ROSES is the new young adult shifter fairy tale by best-selling author Christina Bauer which “blends magical fantasy, swooning romance, and a bucketful of teenage sass” (Booklist) and is “a fun romp for Twilight fans” (School Library Journal).

And now they’re having a bookstore tour where you can get your copy of WOLVES AND ROSES signed, meet characters from the novel, and even take home a swag bag full of goodies… including a themed t-shirt! Bottom line? You don’t want to miss the WOLVES AND ROSES book launch tour.

Be sure to RSVP today and arrive early to the event (links down below) — there’s only a limited amount of swag bags given out on a first-come, first served basis to folks who purchase a new copy of WOLVES AND ROSES.

BOSTON, MA AREA

Barnes & Noble, Prudential Center, Boston MA
Wednesday, November 1st, 5:00 PM EST
REGISTER NOW

Barnes & Noble, Framingham, MA
Thursday, November 2nd, 7:00 PM EST
REGISTER NOW

NEW YORK CITY, NY

Bluestockings, Manhattan
Friday, November 3rd, 7:00 PM EST
REGISTER NOW

SAN FRANCISCO, CA AREA

Barnes & Noble, Corte Madera, CA
Saturday, November 4th, 12:00 NOON PST
REGISTER NOW

COMING SOON: San Jose, CA

CHICAGO, IL AREA

Barnes & Noble, Oakbrook IL
Wednesday, November 7th, 7:00 PM
REGISTER NOW

The Book Cellar, Chicago, IL
Wednesday, November 8th, 7:00 PM CST
REGISTER NOW

Waiting on Wednesday: Honor Among Thieves by Rachel Caine


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: The Honors #1
Publication Date: February 13th 2018
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Genre: YA, Science Fiction 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Meet your new favorite kickass heroine in this daring YA series by New York Times bestselling authors Rachel Caine and Ann Aguirre, a thrilling yet romantic futuristic adventure perfect for fans of Claudia Gray’s A Thousand Pieces of You.

Petty criminal Zara Cole has a painful past that’s made her stronger than most, which is why she chose life in New Detroit instead moving with her family to Mars. In her eyes, living inside a dome isn’t much better than a prison cell.

Still, when Zara commits a crime that has her running scared, jail might be exactly where she’s headed. Instead Zara is recruited into the Honors, an elite team of humans selected by the Leviathan—a race of sentient alien ships—to explore the outer reaches of the universe as their passengers.

Zara seizes the chance to flee Earth’s dangers, but when she meets Nadim, the alien ship she’s assigned, Zara starts to feel at home for the first time. But nothing could have prepared her for the dark, ominous truths that lurk behind the alluring glitter of starlight.

Friday, October 6, 2017

Review: Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

Series: Burn for Burn #1
Publication Date: September 18th 2012
Publisher: Simon and Schuster 
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Paranormal
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Postcard-perfect Jar Island is home to charming tourist shops, pristine beaches, amazing oceanfront homes—and three girls secretly plotting revenge.

KAT is sick and tired of being bullied by her former best friend.

LILLIA has always looked out for her little sister, so when she discovers that one of her guy friends has been secretly hooking up with her, she’s going to put a stop to it.

MARY is perpetually haunted by a traumatic event from years past, and the boy who’s responsible has yet to get what’s coming to him.

None of the girls can act on their revenge fantasies alone without being suspected. But together…anything is possible.

With an alliance in place, there will be no more “I wish I’d said…” or “If I could go back and do things differently...” These girls will show Jar Island that revenge is a dish best enjoyed together.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
“This is Karma. I'm a bitch. Can you think of anyone who deserves a bitch slap?" 

Three girls, all seeking revenge on people who wronged them. The only way they can truly achieve the best revenge is if they work together. When the bad girl, the cheerleader and the new girl come together, all hell breaks loose as they seek their revenge.

Burn for Burn is a lovely quick read. The characters will touch your hearts and the plot line will have you falling off your chair.

I honestly don't know which character I liked more. While I liked Mary, she wasn't my favourite, thats for sure. But I really loved both Kat and Lillia. Kat is the badass girl that everyone envies, she's not afraid to do anything and is so loyal and strong that you can't help but fall in love with her good side. Lillia is basically the girl I've always dreamed of being, she's smart, kind and rich. Her love for her sister was so wonderful, I really admire Lillia's character.

I loved that the story was a bit on the shorter side, it doesn't take very long to finish. Even though its short, the authors created some twists throughout the book that will make you want to finish the book in one sitting. I loved the climax of the story and how it ended, it was so wonderfully written.

The one aspect I didn't really like about the story, was the paranormal aspect. I was expecting this book to be more of a contemporary read going into it, and to my surprise one of the characters has some sort of magical powers. While I normally love that type of thing in stories, it seemed very forced and not well written in this story. Every time I came across it I couldn't help but cringe. Hopefully either the writing is better or there are some changes made to make the paranormal aspect a bit more interesting.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story, the characters were great and the plot was unpredictable. I can't wait to see what happens to the characters next.

Happy Reading,
Aneta

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

September Wrap-Up

Hello everyone. This year I've decided to update you guys with a monthly wrap-up, where I let you know everything that has been happening on Angelic Book Reviews this past month.

What Happened This Month
Is it really October already? It feels like September was only a week long, it went by so fast. I started off the month with finishing the last of my jobs, and now I'm only working once a week while I'm in school. University started on the second week of September for me, and my original plan was to get down all of my September, October and November reading so that I could focus on my midterms around middle and end of October, but to my surprise I ended up having over 6 midterms, and two of them were in September so I didn't get all the reading done that I wanted. The two midterms I've had so far went fairly well, one of them I did really good on, and the other I'm still waiting for my mark back. This also means that I'll probably be behind on the blog for October, and wont be able to reply to comments much. I hope that you'll all forgive me if I start slacking this month.

Books Reviewed This Month

Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu | Rating 4/5 stars


Invictus by Ryan Graudin | Rating 4/5 stars


27 Hours by Tristina Wright | Rating 2/5 stars



Reading Challenge Progress
Goodreads Reading Challenge: 76/80 books read
Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge: 29/25 books read
Audiobook Challenge: 17/10 audiobooks

Did you have a good September?

Waiting on Wednesday: Heart of Iron by Ashely Poston


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Publication Date: February 27th 2018
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Genre: YA, Science Fiction 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09—one of the last remaining illegal Metals—has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana’s desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn’t care what he’ll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them—and the coordinates—and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives—and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana’s past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?
 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...