Monday, September 8, 2014

Lucifer's Rants: Why I Vow to Never Use the Library Again

Hi everyone, this is a fairly new topic I started here at Angelic Reviews. It's called Lucifer's Rants, named after the fallen angel Lucifer himself, where I talk about a certain topic that's on my mind and is book related. I hope you enjoy.

Onto today's topic.

Why I Vow to Never Use the Library Again.

For those of you who don't know me too well, I loved my local public library. I usually went there at least once a week, whether it was to do homework or actually go and check out some books. I had my library code memorized and the librarians all knew who I was.

A few weeks ago, I went to the library and found a copy of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, I've heard some amazing things about this book so I decided to check it out. Everything went normally, I checked the book out, read the book, reviewed it right here on Angelic Book Reviews and then I went to return it.

On the day that I was returning a few books, it was raining outside. I had to walk about 3 minutes to get to the library from where I parked. I tried to cover up the books the best I could to protect it from the rain. Since the library was closed that day, I returned tbem through one of the return slots that all libraries offer, and then left.

A few days later I get an email from the library saying that the copy of Fangirl I returned is highly damaged and that I have to pay the library $30 CAD within 14 days or it will be sent to a collecting agency.

As someone who treats all their books like their own children I couldn't believe what I was seeing. Not only do I treat all of my library books the same way I would treat my own books, but it also makes me extremely sad when I see library books in terrible condition. This came as a shock to me.

So today, when I went to go pay the library that money, I tried to explain to them that I'd never do such a thing and that when I returned the book it was in perfect condition. All they said to me was that they have no proof that I didn't do it, so I had to pay them either way. As I gave them the money they asked for, one of the kind librarians asked if I wanted to keep the copy of the book since they had no use for it anymore.

When I took the book in my hands, this is what I saw.

First of all, I'm pretty sure its impossible for 3 minutes of light rain to do this much damage to a book.
Secondly, I've seen library books who are 10 times worse than this book. I even checked out a library book once that was so damaged it was missing pages and it was a hundred times more crinkled than that.
And lastly, as I opened up the front cover to reveal the price of this book and it was $21.99 CAD, so why on earth did I have to pay $30 to cover the charges for this book. There is no way the library got the book for that much, even if they pre-ordered it or had to pay for shipping or something, that price is way too high.

Feeling completely cheated and scammed by my library. I returned all my books, even the ones I haven't had a chance to read yet, and I vow to never ever set foot in that library ever again.

From now on I shall either buy my own books, and if I don't want to spend all that money on them then I will either buy them on my kindle or borrow books form my friends.

Leave a comment with your opinion on my library below,
Thanks for reading.

Saturday, September 6, 2014

Stacking the Shelves + Weekly Update

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten this past week.

From Publisher
The Winter People
An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn't forgotten their warning to "stay away." For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the "special gifts" that must be left at the back of the property.

Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she'll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

Lola and the Boy Next Door

In this companion novel to Anna and the French Kiss, two teens discover that true love may be closer than they think.

For budding costume designer Lola Nolan, the more outrageous, the outfit—more sparkly, more fun, more wild—the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins move back into the house next door.

When the family returns and Cricket—a gifted inventor and engineer—steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door

Weekly Update

Hi guys, so as you all know its the start of September, and with that means back to school. This year is my first year in University, so with that said, I've decided to take a little time off from books and reading in order to get adjusted to the university study life. Don't worry I'll still be reading and blogging, just not as much.

I hope you all have a lovely week.

Thursday, September 4, 2014

2014 Reading Challenge Progress: August

Hi guys, so as you know I'm doing 3 different challenges this year, throughout the whole year just to stay motivated with my reading. Here is my progress for the month of August.

This year my goal is to finish 60 books within the year. Before this month I read a total of 44 books towards this challenge. Then in August I read 6 books putting me at a total of 50 books and 83% finished with this challenge.

Books Read in August:

Series Challenge
This is a reading challenge that focuses on finishing series. This challenge is hosted by Octavia from Read. Sleep. Repeat. My goal is to complete 12 series this year. You can check out my original post for this challenge here.
Before August, I finished a total of 6 series, putting me at half point in this challenge. In the month of August, I managed to finish one series, this series is not fully complete yet, but since the last book doesn't come out till next year, it counts for this challenge.

Series finished in August:
Bloodlines Series:
- Bloodlines
- The Golden Lily
- The Indigo Spell

Edelweiss & Netgalley Challenge
This challenge is hosted by Emily from Falling For Ya, my goad is to read 25 books. Check out my main post about this challenge here. Before these months I read a total of 5 books towards this challenge. I know I'm terrible. But in the month of August I managed to read 2 more books, putting me at a total of 7 books, I really need to step it up.

Books Read:

Small Update
Hi everyone, so as you guys know its September now and with that means I'll be going back to school. So since this is my first year of University I really want to do a good job in my first year. I took on a lot of classes and I'm very eager to get started. Unfortunately this means that I won't be reading and blogging as much as I like, so hopefully you'll still see me around, just not as much as you're probably used to.

Thanks again for checking out this post, you're all awesome.
Have a fantastic September ;)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...