Saturday, March 29, 2014

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten this past week.

What I Bought:
I bought both bluray movies of The Book Thief and Catching Fire.
I have already seen Catching Fire in theaters, you can check out my Book to Movie Adaptation here. I just had to buy my own copy, I'm definitely watching this over the weekend with my mom :)
I have read The Book Thief and I absolutely loved it. The book is so fantastic. I didn't get a chance to go see the movie when it was in theaters, so I had to pick up a copy as soon as it came out. I'll post a Book to Movie adaptation soon :)

For Review:
Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly

Synopsis: The first in a series of four epic tales set in the depths of the ocean, where six mermaids seek to protect and save their hidden world.

Deep in the ocean, in a world not so different from our own, live the merpeople. Their communities are spread throughout the oceans, seas, and freshwaters all over the globe.

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be winning the love of handsome Prince Mahdi. And yet Sera finds herself haunted by strange dreams that foretell the return of an ancient evil. Her dark premonitions are confirmed when an assassin's arrow poisons Sera's mother. Now, Serafina must embark on a quest to find the assassin's master and prevent a war between the Mer nations. Led only by her shadowy dreams, Sera searches for five other mermaid heroines who are scattered across the six seas. Together, they will form an unbreakable bond of sisterhood and uncover a conspiracy that threatens their world's very existence.

Have a good weekend everyone, leave a link to your STS below and I'll pay you a visit ;)

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Leaving For Europe!!

Hi everyone! Guess what!!! I'm going to Europe!!
My school has an annual Europe trip for the grade 12's each year. And this year is my year.
So please don't worry about me, I'll be back within two weeks.
I have scheduled some posts ahead of time, so keep your eye out for those. And if you comment or message me, I will get back to you, after about two weeks.

My trip consists of flying to Germany and visiting Berlin and Munich. Then busing all the way to Italy where I'll be in Verona, Venice, Florence and Rome!

I am so excited that I can't sleep.
So please have a fantastic two weeks where I wont see you guys, and I hope you all have a lovely spring break :)
- Aneta.

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Book Tour + Review & Giveaway: Lover, Divine by A. Star

Hi everyone, welcome to my stop on the Lover, Divine book tour, hosted by Xpresso Book Tours. Below you will find all information about this book and author. Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the bottom of the post, and check out the other stops on this tour here.

Lover, Divine by A. Star
Series: Mythos: Gods & Lovers #1
Publication Date: February 25th 2014
Genre: Adult, Mythology, Romance
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: Born into one of the wealthiest families in Ireland, Siobhan Law has status, privilege, and a secret: The Greek gods of Olympus and their kingdom in the clouds are real, and her family acts as one of their agents on Earth.

When the beautiful immortal celeste Liam Argyros shows up claiming to have come to Earth to deal in the affairs of the divine, Siobhan finds herself unable to resist his charms. New to the game of passion and seduction, she quickly ends up in over her head, sinking deeper with every attempt Liam makes to win her over.

But Liam’s divine mission is far more complex than she ever imagined and nothing is truly as it seems. Because Liam has a secret of his own: He is Apollo, Olympian god of the Sun, and his mission will never be complete until he has claimed Siobhan’s heart forever.

My Rating: 4/5 stars

My Review: Lover, Divine is a fantastic first novel to a great series. This book was brilliant and an enjoyable quick read. I could not put it down.

I instantly fell in love with the main character. Siobhan is such a well-rounded person, not only is she super tallented in music but she also has goals and ambitions for her life, which I found really interesting. She was definitely a character you could relate to, and feel what they're going through.

I honestly wish I had Liam all to myself. Who wouldn't want a super hot and sexy god being in love with you. At first I thought he was going to just be another one of those asshole bad guys that's really hot but has no emotions, but the more you get to know him, the more emotion and love you get to see. 

While I hate instalove, I thought this book did a really good job with it. You could see the love Liam had for Siobhan and it seemed like it just grew brighter and bigger. Exploring love with Siobhan was definitely interesting, I'm not used to reading books like this, but it seemed pretty exciting and well written.

I definitele recommend this book, but only to people 18 or above. The world and characters are all so amazing and its great getting to know them all, but if you know you dont like to read about sexual content this book might not be for you. 

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did

About the Author

A. Star is a fan of dirty passion. She likes to read it, and she damn sure likes to write it. Her first adult romance/fantasy novella is called Invasion, an alien romance about sacrifice. Lover, Divine is the first release from the Mythos: Gods and Lovers series. Future releases under A. Star include, King, Desired (Mythos: Gods and Lovers #2), the Love & Steampunk series, the Purr, Inc. stories, and more.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore
Series: Dark Metropolis #1
Publication Date: June 17th 2014
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Dystopia
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

Saturday, March 15, 2014

Knight Assassin by Rima Jean

Series: not sure?
Publication Date: March 4th 2014
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Zayn has special powers she cannot control—powers that others fear and covet. Powers that cause the Templar Knights to burn Zayn’s mother at the stake for witchcraft. When a mysterious stranger tempts Zayn to become the first female member of the heretical Assassins, the chance to seek her revenge lures her in. She trains to harness her supernatural strength and agility, and then enters the King of Jerusalem's court in disguise with the assignment to assassinate Guy de Molay, her mother’s condemner. But once there, she discovers Earic Goodwin, the childhood friend who still holds her heart, among the knights—and his ocean-blue eyes don’t miss a thing. Will vengeance be worth the life of the one love she has left?

My Rating: 2/5 stars

My Review: Knight Assassin is a great new book, perfect for assassin lovers, and fans of books like Throne of Glass and Grave Mercy.

Zayn is very special, possessing a different kind of power she cannot control, because of this power and Zayn's refusal to marry, they are branded as witches. After being rescued by a mysterious man named Junaid, Zayn becomes the first female assassin and seeks revenge on those who did her wrong in the past.

Personally I had mixed emotions about this book. The characters, world and action weren't too appealing to me. I feel like if there were minor changes to this book I could have enjoyed it more, but most will probably still enjoy it.

I wasn't a huge fan of Zayn, I feel like this is one of the bigger reasons why I didn't like the book that much. I love the fact that Zayn became and assassin and decided to do something with her life. Yet her character is very whiny and sometimes illogical. There were many moments where I got tired of hearing how terrible her life is, it just got very repetitive and boring. While she did get a little brighter as the book went on, she wasn't very smart in the beginning, and even tried killing herself. I understand what she went through and that it was hard for her, but suicide is never the option and I felt like this book could have been sending the wrong message. 

I surprisingly liked Earic. I found him definitely more intelligent, kind and powerful than Zayn. He brings more of a sense of action into this story, and he's just so nice to everyone you can't help but like him.

I felt like the romance was a little underplayed. Zayn and Earic met when they were little and he saved her life twice. I'm sure that they had a crush on each other when they were little. When they meet again, they're almost adults and they just fall in love. This seems kind of unrealistic,and it made me a little mad when there was no awkwardness between them and they just plunged into a kiss right away. 

I am sad to say there was very little action in this book. For a title like Knight Assassin, you'd expect action on every page. But sadly most pages are filled with her being trained, complaining about her life, or trying to plan how to kill someone (which she fails at). I was hoping that she would be killing people left and right and be sent on missions, but there's none of that, and when she does kill people it's just during a battle which is a page long.

Now for the biggest reason why I didn't enjoy this book. I felt completely lost in the time period. I'm the type of person who hates feeling stupid, and knowing nothing about the Crusades time period or Syria in general, i felt really stupid because not much was explained. If you know your history, you will probably enjoy this book very much, but if you're like me and know nothing, you should probably research the history before reading this book, or you'll feel just as lost as me.

While this book did have some really good parts to it that made me laugh and enjoy the book a little, I couldn't find anything that made me excited and interested in the story. 

Hopefully, you guys find this book better than I did,
Thanks for reading.

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Hexed by Michelle Krys

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Hexed byMichelle Krys
Series: The Witch Hunter #1
Publication Date: June 10th 2014
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: If high school is all about social status, Indigo Blackwood has it made. Sure, her quirky mom owns an occult shop, and a nerd just won’t stop trying to be her friend, but Indie is a popular cheerleader with a football-star boyfriend and a social circle powerful enough to ruin everyone at school. Who wouldn't want to be her?

Then a guy dies right before her eyes. And the dusty old family Bible her mom is freakishly possessive of is stolen. But it’s when a frustratingly sexy stranger named Bishop enters Indie’s world that she learns her destiny involves a lot more than pom-poms and parties. If she doesn't get the Bible back, every witch on the planet will die. And that’s seriously bad news for Indie, because according to Bishop, she’s a witch too.

Suddenly forced into a centuries-old war between witches and sorcerers, Indie’s about to uncover the many dark truths about her life—and a future unlike any she ever imagined on top of the cheer pyramid.

Why I'm Waiting for This?
Not only is the cover super beautiful, but the synopsis just dragged me right in. I love the idea of reading from a characters point of view who is actually popular, rather than reading from an outcast's point of view like most books are nowadays. I have pretty good hopes for this book, and I can't wait till I get a chance to read this book.

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

Series: His Fair Assassin #2
Publication Date: April 2nd 2013
Genre: YA, Adventure, Romance
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

 When Sybella arrived at the doorstep of St Mortain half mad with grief and despair the convent were only too happy to offer her refuge - but at a price. The sisters of this convent serve Death, and with Sybella naturally skilled in both the arts of death and seduction, she could become one of their most dangerous weapons.
But her assassin's skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to the life that nearly drove her mad. Her father's rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother's love is equally monstrous. But when Sybella discovers an unexpected ally she discovers that a daughter of Death may find something other than vengeance to live for...
My Rating: 5/5 stars
My Review: Dark Triumph is one of the most beautiful books I have ever read. It made me look at life in a new way.
We continue our story with Sybella. As she waits for a marque appear on d'Albret she realized the castle is filled with ghosts, spies and hidden allies. Desperately trying to escape her family, Sybella joins forces with a unexpected prisoner to escape the castle and fight for the future of Brittany and its Duchess. 
I was pleasantly surprised with this book. When I first heard that the second book wasn't about Ismae I was really sad because the first book was so amazing. Let me tell you that you will not be disappointed with this book, or that its in Sybella's point of view. I must say that I actually liked this book a little more than Grave Mercy, learning about Sybella and being amazed by the action in this book definitely won me over.
If you think you know Sybella from the first book. You are wrong. Sybella is such a complex character, but getting to learn her history with her family was so interesting and scary that you definitely see her in a new light. Not only does she have deep emotional problems that are fairly interesting to read about, but also as you'd expect she gets into a lot of danger and fights.
The character-building in this book is so much greater than the first book. We see not only Sybella change but many of the characters around her, and its absolutely beautiful. I found myself cheering not only for Sybella but for her brother (someone you wouldn't except to cheer for) and also Beast, our mysterious prisoner.
I loved the romance in this book. We always see books where the main romance is either two supermodel hot characters, or a normal looking girl falling for a super hot guy. We rarely see a beautiful girl falling for someone average looking, but these are the stories I love most because their character is what stands out and you definitely earn respect for both characters.
I honestly can't tell you how much I love this book. And I absolutely can't wait till the next book comes out. If you loved the first book, you will definitely love this one.
Happy reading everyone.

Monday, March 10, 2014

Book Blitz + Giveaway: Transformed by E.V. Fairfall

Transformed by E.V. Fairfall
Publication Date: January 1st 2014
Genre: YA, Paranormal, Romance
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: Since the beginning, two entities have had complete, unquestioned control over Thea: the Earth and God.

But when Thea suddenly figures out that the Earth has  trapped her within a forest, she discovers that the only way to set herself free is to break God’s one rule; she must forsake her animal form and become human.

The result is nothing she could ever have expected. Lost within the torrent of human emotions, Thea starts to lose who she is and even begins to fall in love with the one thing she always hated: a hunter.

As her act against God proves more problematic than anticipated, it is only a matter of time before her punishment may prove to be worse than Earth’s entrapment.

About the Author

I love to write just as much as I love to read. I try to read a book per week, which doesn't always work out, but it's the thought that counts. Aside from all that I am a huge animal person.

Transformed is my first novel, but it isn't my first publication; I've had several short stories published over the last two years. My main goal as a writer is to explore humanity and to give people something fun to read.

Interview with E.V.

What makes Transformed a unique story? 
Well, let me first ask you this: how often have you read a book in which God and Mother Earth are siblings? Or a book in which Earth itself is an entity of its own, and prevents God from doing anything he wants? How often have you read a book in which Mother Earth is able to take any form except for that of a human because it is forbidden? Though Transformed is a story about finding one's self, it also explores the foibles of being human and the value of all life. It is about making mistakes and finding a solution, even if that solution isn’t what was originally intended. 

Where does the story take place? 
Transformed takes place in a small mountain town in Colorado. This fictitious town resides next to a forest and is green and lush (Colorado can get very dry), and because of its high elevation, it has strange weather patterns. 

How important are names to you in your books? Do you choose the names based on the way they sound or the meaning? Do you have any name choosing resources you recommend? 
Names! Names are so important to me, mostly because I can’t actually write a character without first knowing their name. I can have the perfect scene in my head but until I find a name that I know fits the character, I just can’t write them in. I don’t pick names based on the sounds, but sometimes I pick a name because of its meaning. Mostly I just know when a name works for my character. As for resources, I tend to use lots of baby naming websites.

Who is your favorite character from Transformed and why? 
Oh gosh, I’m going to say Cricket. I love Chamber of course, but Cricket is just so fun. Cricket is a girl who Thea turned into a squirrel because she needed to borrow her apartment while she was human. Even though Cricket is now a squirrel, she insists on taking special care of the clothes that she reluctantly let Thea borrow—more like take. Thea, who doesn’t understand why Cricket cares about the clothes, tends to leave them wherever she might drop them. Here is a quick excerpt from the book: 
“'You have a squirrel in your sweater.' Brice cocked his head to the side. 'Actually, I think it’s stealing it.' 
Thea looked over her shoulder to see the little squirrel dragging the sweater across the floor toward the closet. If Brice saw a squirrel put a sweater on a hanger, she would never hear the end of it. She shook her head toward the squirrel, causing the ball of fur to stop and glare before continuing to drag the sweater out of sight. If Thea didn’t start hanging up the squirrel’s clothes, she had a feeling the little rodent would attempt to kick her out."

Give us some insight into your main character. What does she do that is so special? 
       Thea is God's sister and has spent her life filling the role of Mother Earth, creating the plants and animals and serving as their guardian. Alongside her brother God, the two siblings used their light to create for hundreds of years. She doesn’t understand humans, and she likes them even less. It isn’t until she takes a human form that she begins to understand what she has been missing out on, and ultimately she gains a deeper understanding of her brother and what it means to be a part of a family. 

Did you have a specific song or playlist that you listened to when you were writing Transformed?
I actually can’t listen to music when I write. I wish I could. Sometimes a song will inspire me or motivate me, but while writing I need quiet. Of course, that never really happens because I live in an apartment with paper thin walls—but that is part of the adventure. 

What writing advice do you have for other aspiring authors?
Never give up, and go to writers conferences! I wish I had gone to a writers conference earlier. They open your mind to a side of book writing that you normally wouldn't consider. You can meet people who love what you love, and it is a great chance to break out of your shell and read some of your work out loud. Not only that but you will meet other writers who will help you through the hard times. 

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful? 
Reviews! Social media posts on Facebook, Tumblr, Goodreads and so on. Word of mouth is huge for any author. There are so many great books in the world that people haven't discovered, but they only need to be pointed in the right direction. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, March 8, 2014

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten this past week.

Books Bought
Ignite by Jamie Campbell

Synopsis: The Spark That Ignites The Flame.

Seventeen years ago an entire generation of aliens were sent to Earth in order to save their home planet and integrate into the human population. Now, those aliens are being hunted.

Amery Jones is finally allowed to go to camp for the summer. With her best friend Lola by her side, she is expecting awesome times ahead.

Unfortunately, Lochie, her charming mortal enemy and the only guy who can get under her skin, seems to have made it his mission to annoy her for the entire summer.

When one of the campers goes missing, Amery finds herself teamed up with Lochie in the search mission. Now, more than ever, her alien status has to remain a secret.

Summer Demons by Mia Hoddell

Synopsis: Jenna Shaw ran away to escape her past. In fact, she jumped on a plane and flew to Portugal to try and forget it. However, it turns out leaving everything behind isn’t as easy as it sounds.

She thought she could move on and break free of her fears—that if she had some space the pain would stop. But as memories resurface due to an ill-timed joke, the past crashes into her present once more and she didn’t see it coming. 

Jenna’s plans for normality are derailed by the charismatic Ethan Brooks. She sees him as an annoyance; he sees her as a challenge. But as he tries every trick known to him to impress her, they only serve to push her further away. He’s never faced this problem before and Ethan has to work harder than he ever has if he wants to win over and help his mysterious girl. 

A young adult romance, this novella would be a great book for teenagers or as a feel-good summer read.

From Netgalley
Second Star by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

Synopsis: A twisty story about love, loss, and lies, this contemporary oceanside adventure is tinged with a touch of dark magic as it follows seventeen-year-old Wendy Darling on a search for her missing surfer brothers. Wendy’s journey leads her to a mysterious hidden cove inhabited by a tribe of young renegade surfers, most of them runaways like her brothers. Wendy is instantly drawn to the cove’s charismatic leader, Pete, but her search also points her toward Pete's nemesis, the drug-dealing Jas. Enigmatic, dangerous, and handsome, Jas pulls Wendy in even as she's falling hard for Pete. A radical reinvention of a classic, Second Star is an irresistible summer romance about two young men who have yet to grow up--and the troubled beauty trapped between them.

Have a good weekend everyone, thanks for reading :)

Friday, March 7, 2014

Book Tour + Excerpt & Giveaway: Eden Forest by Aoife Marie Sheridan

Hi everyone, welcome to my stop on the Eden Forest book tour hosted by Xpresso Book Tours. Don't forget to check out the giveaway at the end, and make sure you check out the rest of the tour here.

Eden Forest by Aoife Marie Sheridan
Series: Saskia Trilogy
Publication Date: September 28th 2012
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: Sarajane Anderson is your regular twenty one year old. With family, friends and a normal job. She also happens to be the only person who can save Saskia, a world parallel to earth.

When Sarajane is taken to Saskia, she could never have imagined the reality of the world she steps into, a world where magical abilities are in everyone’s possession.

She must face a father she never knew, a world that is beyond her belief. A guardian who captures her heart, and a darkness that wants to take it.
On this journey Sarajane discovers her magical abilities and realizes they come with a price. Sarajane is truly tested, as her loved ones are put at risk. The question she must ask herself is, how do you choose who lives and who dies?

My Rating: 4/5 stars

My Review: I instantly fell in love with Eden Forest and the world of Saskia. I absolutely love the idea of a parallel world next to earth. It gives the book a huge sense of fantasy but you also enjoy the world you already know. The amount of detail the author put into describing the world was truly beautiful, I felt like I was right there watching everything happen right in front of me. And if you've been following my blog, you know that I absolutely love books with kings and queens, especially when they have evil queens.

As much as I loved all the fantastic world-building in this book, I felt like the author put too much detail in describing the characters, there was a part in the book in the first few chapters where the characters clothes were described 3 times within like two pages, which got kind of repetitive. I have mixed emotions about that, like its nice to be able to picture that, but I need some action.

This book is told in 3 different points of view, and I absolutely loved it. You definitely get to know all the different characters and you do get close to them since you see what they're thinking and such. I must say that my favorite was definitely Sarajane. Especially her relationship with Tristan, I thought they were the cutest thing ever.

I loved this book, and I'm so excited to keep reading the series. Highly recommend this to all the Fantasy lovers out there.


I look back at the house and Dad is standing in the sitting room, looking out the window, wrapped in grief. I give a small wave and then we are out of sight. The drive is always silent as we make our way to the forest, my mind racing, praying today will be the day we find something.
Josh pulls in at a filling station. “Coffee?” he asks while taking off his seat belt.
“Yes, thanks.” His door closes and I watch as people go on with their daily lives. It looks so simple, no major complications.
When my mother was around, I never realised how great my life was. Josh climbs back in, then hands me my coffee and drops a bag onto the floor on my side.
“What did you get?” I ask as he turns the key in the ignition.
“Your favourite. Tuna sandwich with lots of mayonnaise.”
We leave the filling station and I wrap my hands around my coffee for extra warmth. We arrive at the parking lot just on the outskirts of the forest. I climb out, still clinging to my cup. We follow our usual trail. The ground is muddy from the rain. This causes my wellies to make squishing noises. Josh has nailed red
pieces of cloth onto trees to help us remember the area we need to search. I send up another silent prayer that today I will find something, anything.
This area was the last place my mother was before she disappeared six months ago. She was out that day, walking Charlie, our dog. The Garda found Charlie dead, along with my mum’s blue rain mac. That is all we have left of her.
It made no sense, her disappearance. There was no ransom.
We weren’t wealthy, just comfortable, so that was ruled out earlier on in the search. Also, my mother had no enemies. She was just a housewife.
We take opposite sides of our outlined area and comb the ground for clues. After two hours of coming up empty-handed, we return to the car. Josh gives me my sandwich and a bottle of minerals.
“Josh, do you think when someone dies they would linger around?”
He takes a drink before answering me. “Yes, I suppose, if they have unfinished business.”
I know Josh is just being kind. He really believes if you’re dead, that’s it, lights out.
“I don’t feel her here,” I say.
Josh places his hand over mine. “That’s good, Sarajane.” Pity fills his brown eyes, and it makes me angry.
I push his hand away. “She is alive.”
He places his hands on the steering wheel, his knuckles turning white from his grip. I know he believes she’s dead and I’m in denial. “You can’t keep this up.”
I seal my sandwich, having lost my appetite. “Keep what up?” I ask, knowing fully well what he is talking about. I knew one day I would have this conversation.
Josh turns to me. “Sarajane, please. Searching for her in the same place for the last six months is not healthy.”
My temper flares. “Sorry for taking up your Sundays.” I jump out of his car, slamming the door, and return to the forest.
Josh follows me. “Sarajane, this is not about my time.” I keep walking, splashing mud past my wellies up onto my black jeans. Josh catches up with me. “Just stop.” He stands in front of me. “I’m trying so hard to help you. You know I would do anything for you, right? I don’t care about my time. I just worry about you.”
I look away, shaking my head. Tears fill my eyes. “If I stop looking, it means I’ve given up on her.” My tears spill over. Josh pulls me into his chest and lets me cry. Afterwards, I use my glove to clean my face and nose.
“I will come with you every Sunday forever, but I just think there is nothing to find here.”
I look into his brown eyes. “I won’t stop.”
He wraps an arm around me and kisses my head. “Okay, we won’t stop, then.”


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, March 2, 2014

World After by Susan Ee

Series: Penryn & the End of Days #2
Publication Date: November 19th 2013
Genre: YA, Paranormal, Fantasy, Dystopia
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ B&N

Synopsis: In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what's left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn's sister Paige, thinking she's a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels' secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can't rejoin the angels, can't take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

My Rating: 5/5 stars

My Review: The Aerie has fallen, but the angels haven't. Finally reunited with her family, Penryn tries to keep them safe, but it’s very difficult to do that when your little sister is a monster. 

I was amazed at how great this book was. Even without Raffee in the beginning, there was still enough action and story-line that made you want to keep reading. 

Penryn is still the same brave and fearless girl we have grown to love. In this book we definitely see a different side of her, where she is sometimes the outcast and other times a hero. Yet her love for her family and her amazing duration to survive has stayed the same. She is still as brilliant and lovable as ever. And she can still fight her way out of anything, especially now with Raffee’s sword in her hands.

We don't see much of Raffee in this book, since he believes that Penryn is dead because of the fight at the Aerie in the last book. But trust me, that wait is so worth it in the end. 
We also see little parts of Raffee's past and little parts of his POV from the first book. I'm usually not a huge fan of this but it was brilliantly written in this book. It not only gave us insight about Raffee, but it was also very interesting to read about. 

I was greatly impressed with Paige in this book. I really don't want to say anything, just so that I don't ruin the book to those who haven't read it yet. But trust me when I say you will love her.

The world building wasn't too great. We did get to know where Penryn was and we got some details about the places she stayed in a longer time, but there were many little areas of the story where I barely knew what her world looked like. It was really focused on the character and the action.

This book was honestly perfect, the only thing that I could find wrong with it, was kind of the New Moon feeling where the main guy is gone and then he comes back later in the book, and the whole world-building thing, but it wasn't too bad. You could deal with it and it’s not something that would make you stop reading. For me, it’s definitely the characters in this book that have my main focus.

Definitely recommend this book to everyone! This whole series is so fantastic and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves Fantasy books.

I buddy read this book with Angel from Spare Reads, check out her review. It would mean the world to both of us :)

Thanks for reading,
- Aneta

Saturday, March 1, 2014

2014 Reading Challenges Progress: February

Hi guys, so as you know I'm doing 3 different challenges this year, throughout the whole year just to stay motivated with my reading. Here is my progress for February.


This year my goad is to finish 60 books within the year. In the month of January I have finished 6 books, and this month I've finished 5 books. I'm not very impressed, I was hoping to complete more books, but I guess the month is over, so all I can do is make next month better. I am still 2% ahead of schedule, putting me at 18% done with this challenge.
Books Read:
My goal for March is to complete at least 8 books.

Series Challenge

This is a reading challenge that focuses on finishing series. This challenge is hosted by Octavia from Read. Sleep. Repeat. My goal is to complete 12 series this year. You can check out my original post for this challenge here
This month I failed miserably and didn't complete any series.
So far I have only completed one series, but for the month of March I plan to read Midnight City by J. Barton Mitchell and the sequel to that called The Severed Tower. And if I'm lucky enough, I can start the Cinder series.

Edelweiss & Netgalley Challenge

This challenge is hosted by Emily from Falling For Ya, my goad is to read 25 books. Check out my main post about this challenge here.
Books Read:
Unite by Jamie Campbell

I am not off to a good start with these challenges, but don't worry! I am sure that March will be my month and I will finish a bunch of books!

If you ever want to track my progress throughout the month, you can check how I'm doing in the side bar on my blog, which I update frequently.

Thanks so much for reading, 
Leave a link in the comments to your 2014 Reading Challenges, I'd love to see them.

Have a lovely weekend everyone :)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...