Thursday, October 31, 2013

Sekret by Lindsay Smith

Book One in Sekret Series
Expected to be Published on April 1st 2014

Goodreads Review : Yulia’s father always taught her that an empty mind is a safe mind. She has to hide her thoughts and control her emotions to survive in Communist Russia, especially because she seems to be able to read the minds of the people she touches. When she’s captured by the KGB and forced to work as a psychic spy with a mission to undermine the U.S. space program, she’s thrust into a world of suspicion, deceit, and horrifying power where she can trust no one. 

She certainly can’t trust Rostov, the cruel KGB operative running the psychic program. Or handsome Sergei who encourages her to cooperate with the KGB. Or brooding Valentin who tells her to rebel against them. And not the CIA, who have a psychic so powerful he can erase a person’s mind with his own thoughts. Yulia quickly learns she must rely on her own wits and power to survive in this world where no SEKRET can stay hidden for long.

My Rating : 4/5 stars

My Review : Yulia and her family are on the run! Hiding from the KGB forces in Russia, and treating poor injured people with smuggled drugs. Its not long before Yulia and her family are captured. Their father is on the run, her mother is brainwashed and forced to work, and her brother is put in a mental home. Yulia is stuck in an old building running the Psychic Program. Yulia and the rest of the household poses the power to read others minds, whether by touch, seeing into the future, or completely wiping out someones memory. If Yulia doesn't co-operate, the KGB will do far worse things to her family that she could ever imagine. Will she attempt to flee, or will she become a spy for the KGB forces?

Such an interesting book, filled with history, power and love. This book started out a little slow, but it definitely picked up mid-point in the "romance" and "action" aspects of the story. There was tons of twists and turns that always kept you guessing. Who was good? Who was bad? Who can you trust?.. I am very pleased with the way this book ended. It had the perfect ending, no cliffhanger that makes you die waiting for the next book, but you could definitely tell that the sequel will be interesting. I loved the Russian words incorporated in the story line, I personally loved them because I could understand most of them, but for all of you who don't understand the basics of the language, I would highly recommend having google translator open up beside you when you read, there's not too much that you'd have to translate, just a few words here and there, but it would definitely make the story better. Same with the Russian history, I feel like people who don't know the history very well, would either have to read up on it, or they just wouldn't enjoy the book as much.
Either way, this was a great read, and I would definitely recommend it to the Russian lovers, and fantasy geeks like me!

Sekret (Sekret, #1)

Rebel Heart by Moira Young

Book Two in Dust Lands Series
Published on October 30th 2012

Goodreads Review : Nothing is certain and no one is safe in the second book in the highly praised Dust Lands trilogy, which MTV's Hollywood Crush blog called "better than "The Hunger Games.""It seemed so simple: Defeat the Tonton, rescue her kidnapped brother, Lugh, and then order would be restored to Saba's world. Simplicity, however, has proved to be elusive. Now, Saba and her family travel west, headed for a better life and a longed-for reunion with Jack. But the fight for Lugh's freedom has unleashed a new power in the dust lands, and a formidable new enemy is on the rise.

What is the truth about Jack? And how far will Saba go to get what she wants? In this much-anticipated follow-up to the riveting Blood Red Road," a fierce heroine finds herself at the crossroads of"danger and destiny, betrayal and passion.

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : If you loved Blood Red Road, READ THIS RIGHT NOW! 
Usually in trilogies the first book is always the best because it introduces the characters and the love interests between the characters, but this book was just as good as Blood Red Road it never got boring, and there were definitely some unpredictable things that happened. This book is really just AMAZING. Can't wait to read the next one!

Rebel Heart (Dust Lands, #2)

Happy Halloween!!

I just wanted to wish you all a happy Halloween!! I hope its spooky and candyful <3

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Blood Red Road by Moira Young

Book One in Dust Lands Series
Published on February 28th 2012

Goodreads Review : This fast-paced YA debut novel has it all: smart, savvy characters making their way through an eerily dystopian society, with all the requisite action, adventure and romance characteristic of the genre vividly and at times, chillingly, portrayed. 

In a wild and lawless future, where life is cheap and survival is hard, eighteen-year-old Saba lives with her father, her twin brother Lugh, her young sister Emmi and her pet crow Nero. Theirs is a hard and lonely life. The family resides in a secluded shed, their nearest neighbour living many miles away and the lake, their only source of water and main provider of food, gradually dying from the lack of rain. But Saba's father refuses to leave the place where he buried his beloved wife, Allis, nine years ago. Allis died giving birth to Emmi, and Saba has never forgiven her sister for their mother's death. 

But while she despises Emmi, Saba adores her twin brother Lugh. Golden-haired and blue-eyed, loving and good, he seems the complete opposite to dark-haired Saba, who is full of anger and driven by a ruthless survival instinct. To Saba, Lugh is her light and she is his shadow, he is the day, she is the nighttime, he is beautiful, she is ugly, he is good, she is bad. 

So Saba's small world is brutally torn apart, when a group of armed riders arrives five day's after the twin's eighteenth birthday snatch Lugh away. Saba's rage is so wild, that she manages to drive the men away, but not before they have captured Lugh and killed their father. 

And here begins Saba's epic quest to rescue Lugh, during which she is tested by trials she could not have imagined, and one that takes the reader on breathtaking ride full or romance, physical adventure and unforgettably vivid characters, making this a truly sensational YA debut novel.

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : AMAZING! LOVED EVERY PART OF IT! On the cover it says its "better than Hunger Games," and i must say, I agree. This is one of my new favorite books. I loved the characters, especially Saba, and how determined she is, shes not afraid of death and will do everything in her will to save the people she loves. The way the author writes perfectly fits the dystopian feel of this series. There's tons of action, id say even more than the Hunger Games, and the love story is very interesting too. You definitely get to watch Saba grow up and turn into a great person, shes smart, determined, caring, shes just a kick ass character in general. The action never stops, and it never gets boring. Truly amazing.

Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, #1)

Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

Book One in Juliet Immortal Series
Published on August 9th 2011

Goodreads Review : Fans of Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver and Becca Fitzpatrick'sHush will relish this intense paranormal love story featuring Romeo and Juliet, literary history's most tragic couple, who meet again, not as true lovers, but truly as enemies.

The most tragic love story in history . . .

Juliet Capulet didn't take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn't anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she's fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she's forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.

"These violent delights have violent ends
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder,
Which as they kiss consume."
—Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : ADORABLE. If you thought Romeo and Juliet was a great love story, you will LOVE this book. In this book Juliet was betrayed by Romeo, he killed her in order to become immortal. But Juliet didn't die, she became and Ambassador of Light. For years and years Juliet was sent into others bodies to help find two soul mates, and keep them together forever. Romeo invades peoples bodies after he killed them, his mission is to make sure the soul mates turn against each other, and one of them chose the same fate he chose, and kills the other. But this time something is different, and they both know it. This is the last time they jump into someone else's body. It's now or never. 
This book has action, love and mystery. It is absolutely beautiful.

Juliet Immortal (Juliet Immortal, #1)

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

My Soul To Save by Rachel Vincent

Book Two in Soul Screamers Series
Published on December 29th 2009

Goodreads Review  : When Kaylee Cavanaugh screams, someone dies.

So when teen pop star Eden croaks onstage and Kaylee doesn’t wail, she knows something is dead wrong. She can’t cry for someone who has no soul.

The last thing Kaylee needs right now is to be skipping school, breaking her dad’s ironclad curfew and putting her too-hot-to-be-real boyfriend’s loyalty to the test. But starry-eyed teens are trading their souls: a flickering lifetime of fame and fortune in exchange for eternity in the Netherworld—a consequence they can’t possibly understand.

Kaylee can’t let that happen, even if trying to save their souls means putting her own at risk.

My Rating : 3/5 stars

My Review : This is the second book to Kaylee's adventures. This book starts off with Kaylee and Nash at a concert, where the singer collapses on stage, yet Kaylee doesn't scream. They soon find out that the pop star traded her soul to become famous. Tod finds out his old girlfriend is next on the reaper list, will Tod and the gang be able to save her before the time runs out?
This was a great read, but it got kind of boring at some parts, there's no love triangle in this book, just one love interest and it gets kind of boring when there's no hot boys fighting over you. 

My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent

Book One in Soul Screamers Series
Published on August 1st 2009

Goodreads Review : She doesn't see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next.

My Rating : 4/5 stars

My Review : Great Book. It starts with Kaylee and her best friend Emma going to a club, where a cute boy from her school asks her to dance. Their night would have turned out perfect,if it wasn't for Kaylee knowing that another girl at the club was going to die later that night. Kaylee can sense when people around her are going to die. Mysterious deaths are going on all around her, and Kaylee has to find this person responsible for the deaths before someone she knows gets hurt.
This is a great read for the paranormal fans and mystery fans. Also you can't go wrong with a little romance!

The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa

Book One in Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten Series
Published on October 23rd 2012

Goodreads Review : Don’t look at Them. Never let Them know you can see Them.

That is Ethan Chase’s unbreakable rule. Until the fey he avoids at all costs—including his reputation—begin to disappear, and Ethan is attacked. Now he must change the rules to protect his family. To save a girl he never thought he’d dare to fall for.

Ethan thought he had protected himself from his older sister’s world—the land of Faery. His previous time in the Iron Realm left him with nothing but fear and disgust for the world Meghan Chase has made her home, a land of myth and talking cats, of magic and seductive enemies. But when destiny comes for Ethan, there is no escape from a danger long, long forgotten

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : Since when did Megan's little brother become a super hot bad boy? I loved seeing the old characters from the previous series, I almost teared up because I missed them. Also Ethan is a pretty awesome main character, he's pretty much like Megan, but in a hot bad ass version. He is just as determined as her, especially when his friend is missing. He goes on a quest to search for his friend, and to protect his family.
I loved every part of this book. AMAZING.

Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

Published on May 8th 2012

Goodreads Review : It isn't easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past - and hers?

My Rating : 4/5 stars

My Review : Such a cute book. I can't wait to read it to my kids one day.
This story is about the youngest sister in the Woodcutter family. Her name is Sunday. She finds a frog and just like all the other fairy tales, he turns into her prince. This story has so many old fairy tales wrapped up into one, I really felt like being a little kid again. This book is definitely meant for younger kids or teens, not Young-Adult, but still, It was a great read.

The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

Book Three in Bloodlines Series
Published on February 12th 2013

Goodreads Review : In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she finds herself struggling to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch--a former Alchemist who escaped against all odds, and is now on the run. Marcus wants to teach Sydney the secrets he claims the Alchemists are hiding from her. But as he pushes her to rebel against the people who raised her, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as she searches for an evil magic user targeting powerful young witches, she realizes that her only hope is to embrace her magical blood--or else she might be next.

Populated with new faces as well as familiar ones, the Bloodlines series explores all the friendship, romance, battles, and betrayals that made the #1 New York Times bestselling Vampire Academy series so addictive—this time in a part-vampire, part-human setting where the stakes are even higher and everyone’s out for blood.

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : As much as I want to write a good review about this book, because I loved it so much. I don't want to ruin anything for anyone! I highly recommend this book to everyone! But this is how it went for me when I read the book.
-reads book-
-comes back to life-
-dies again-

The Golden Lilly by Richelle Mead

Book Two in Bloodlines Series
Published on June 12th 2012

Goodreads Review : Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

Sydney would love to go to college, but instead, she’s been sent into hiding at a posh boarding school in Palm Springs, California–tasked with protecting Moroi princess Jill Dragomir from assassins who want to throw the Moroi court into civil war. Formerly in disgrace, Sydney is now praised for her loyalty and obedience, and held up as the model of an exemplary Alchemist.

But the closer she grows to Jill, Eddie, and especially Adrian, the more she finds herself questioning her age–old Alchemist beliefs, her idea of family, and the sense of what it means to truly belong. Her world becomes even more complicated when magical experiments show Sydney may hold the key to prevent becoming Strigoi—the fiercest vampires, the ones who don’t die. But it’s her fear of being just that—special, magical, powerful—that scares her more than anything. Equally daunting is her new romance with Brayden, a cute, brainy guy who seems to be her match in every way. Yet, as perfect as he seems, Sydney finds herself being drawn to someone else—someone forbidden to her.

When a shocking secret threatens to tear the vampire world apart, Sydney’s loyalties are suddenly tested more than ever before. She wonders how she's supposed to strike a balance between the principles and dogmas she's been taught, and what her instincts are now telling her.

Should she trust the Alchemists—or her heart?

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : I cried so hard in this book!
I love Sydney, she reminds me so much of myself! I just love the way she acts and how smart she is. And Adrian! OMG HOW MUCH I LOVE YOU! LIKE PLEASE I NEED TO MARRY YOU! -if only i could get married to a fictional character- 
I just can't describe my love for this book, it left me speechless, like i can't, i just can't.

Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

Book One in Bloodlines Series
Published on August 23rd 2011

Goodreads Review : 
Sydney is an alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of human and vampires. They protect vampire secrets - and human lives. When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she's still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir - the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir - is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill's guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the last place anyone would think to look for vampire royalty - a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. But instead of finding safety at Amberwood Prep, Sydney discovers the drama is only just beginning..

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : This is a spin off series from the Vampire Academy series. If you haven't read those books, I would strongly advise you to read them first, they are by the same author. To be honest here, I thought it would be be boring, since the main character was an alchemist instead of a vampire, and knowing Sydni from the previous books, I thought she would be interesting, but not too exciting. BUT I WAS COMPLETELY WRONG!!! THIS WAS SO MUCH BETTER THAN VAMPIRE ACADEMY!
I have always been on Team Adrian instead of Dmitri, and i was so happy to see him back. The things Adrian says... just beautiful! It was so wonderful seeing old characters when I thought their stories have ended. The mix of these characters with the new characters in the new environment just works perfectly!! You have to read these books if you're a fan of the original series, or kick ass characters in general. 

Sunday, October 27, 2013

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Book Three in Infernal Devices Series

Goodreads Review : Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren't all brides happy? Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shaodwhunters of the London Institute. 

A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa's heart, will do anything to save her. 

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : MOST AMAZING BOOK I EVER READ! I will never love another book more than this one. I cried like 20 times in this book, they were sad tears, tears of anger, and happy tears. I became a little depressed after this book was over because i just wanted the story to continue on, forever and ever.
You know when you read a book so good, you just cant start another book for a few days.. it took me a month to get over this book.. AMAZING.. JUST AMAZING!!!

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Book Two in Infernal Devices Series

Goodreads Review : In magical Victorian London, orphan Tessa found safety with the Shadowhunters, until traitors betray her to the Magister. He wants to marry her, but so do self-destructive Will and fiercely devoted Jem. Mage Magnus Bane returns to help them. Secrets to her parentage lie with the mist-shrouded Yorkshire Institute's aged manager Alyosius Starkweather.

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : This book left me speechless... Like can i just go roll up in a ball and stay there for a month or two? I haven't cried this much in a book like ever. I actually had to stop a few times, take in what just happened, breath, and then continue on. If you've read the first one, don't even wait, like read this right now. You will love it.

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Book One in Infernal Devices Series

Goodreads Review : In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them....

My Rating : 5/5 stars

My Review : This is probably my favorite book of all time. If you've read the Mortal Instruments you have to read this series right away.
In this series a girl named Tessa comes to London expecting to be living with her brother. When she lands she is taken by the mysterious Dark Sisters. They trap her in a house and force her to "change." What Tessa didn't know is that she has the power to change into different people, not only does she look like them but she can also access their memories. After being held prisoner by the Dark Sisters, they reveal to her that she is to be married to the Magister, when Tessa's escape plans fail, she is surprisingly rescued by none other than William Herondale.
I loved how there was a connection to the original series, we get to meet the Herondales, the Lightwoods, and the Fairchilds. This series has very interesting characters. Tessa is an amazing girl, she loves books, and she is just a very smart and intellectual character. There's just something about her that everyone loves, including the two main male characters. William Herondale is a spitting image of Jace, they're both super hot, mysterious, and lovable. The only difference is that Will has black hair, and blue eyes. Jem Carstairs is the other main male character, he is of Asian descent, yet he is striking with his silver hair. Unlike Will, he is very slim but has a soft layer of muscle. Jem is just smart, lovable and gifted on the violin. While Will is more mysterious and sometimes rude (but super hot), Jem is the kind and caring soul that all the girls want. This is one of the main reasons why i love this series, is because i can't pick between the two guys, they're both just so amazing. I don't want Tessa to end up with either of them so i can have them to myself. I could only wish. Anyways, read this book, and you wont regret it!

Faery Tales & Nightmares by Melissa Marr

Goodreads Summary : Dangerous promises and beguiling threats swirl together in a dozen stories of enchantments dark and light by New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr. Uncanny and unexpected creatures appear from behind bushes, rise from beneath the seas, or manifest from seasonal storms to pursue the objects of their attention—with amorous or sinister intent—relentlessly.

From the gentle tones of a storyteller’s cadences to the terror of a blood sacrifice, tales of favorite characters from Marr’s Wicked Lovely novels mix with accounts of new characters for readers to fall in love with...or to fear

My Rating : 2/5 stars

My Review : A collection of short stories written by Melissa Marr.
I had different opinions about each short story, but most of them were pretty bad. The short ones were either too long, or so short that i didn't know what was going on. The longer ones weren't that good, i don't know if it was the lack of story for me, but i just couldn't get into it. Would not recommend if you don't like short stories, or Melissa Marr's writing.

The Death Cure by James Dashner

Book Three in Maze Runner Series

Goodreads Review : Thomas knows that Wicked can't be trusted, but they say the time for lies is over, that they've collected all they can from the Trials and now must rely on the Gladers, with full memories restored, to help them with their ultimate mission. It's up to the Gladers to complete the blueprint for the cure to the Flare with a final voluntary test.

What Wicked doesn't know is that something's happened that no Trial or Variable could have foreseen. Thomas has remembered far more than they think. And he knows that he can't believe a word of what Wicked says.

The time for lies is over. But the truth is more dangerous than Thomas could ever imagine.
Will anyone survive the Death Cure?

My Rating : 4/5 stars.

My Review : Everyone's memories have returned. Thomas knows WICKED can't be trusted, but who can he really trust? Thomas and the Gladers set out on an adventure doing everything they can to find a cure, and save themselves.
I wasn't very please with some of the characters because of their actions in The Scorch Trials, but I must say they have redeemed themselves in this book. The ending to this series was just perfect in my opinion! This book was really crazy and filled with mind blowing twists and turns which made it super exciting! If you've read the other books and are waiting to read this one! Don't wait! Read it now!

Scorch Trials by James Dashner

Book Two in Maze Runner Series

Goodreads Review : Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. No more puzzles. No more variables. And no more running. Thomas was sure that escape meant he and the Gladers would get their lives back. But no one really knew what sort of life they were going back to.

In the Maze, life was easy. They had food, and shelter, and safety . . . until Teresa triggered the end. In the world outside the Maze, however, the end was triggered long ago.

Burned by sun flares and baked by a new, brutal climate, the earth is a wasteland. Government has disintegrated—and with it, order—and now Cranks, people covered in festering wounds and driven to murderous insanity by the infectious disease known as the Flare, roam the crumbling cities hunting for their next victim . . . and meal.

The Gladers are far from finished with running. Instead of freedom, they find themselves faced with another trial. They must cross the Scorch, the most burned-out section of the world, and arrive at a safe haven in two weeks. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Thomas can only wonder—does he hold the secret of freedom somewhere in his mind? Or will he forever be at the mercy of WICKED?

My Rating : 4/5 stars.

My Review : Thomas and the Gladers thought they were out of the maze, but what they don't know is that WICKED has placed them in another test. This time the Gladers must run through the Scorch, a deadly desert infested with traps and Cranks. 
The beginning to this book was mind blowing with many surprises around every corner, just like the last book. The first half of this book was just amazing! The characters were great, there was lots of mystery and adventure, and it was really exciting. The second half of this book wasn't as good! There were many characters that angered me, their actions were just stupid. I understand the reasons why they did what they had to do but they could have done it without hurting each other! This probably sounds confusing but when you read this book, I'm sure you'll agree with me that there is just those few characters that you just want to strangle or erase from your memory. Nevertheless this was a great book with tons of action and mystery! I would definitely recommend it. 

Saturday, October 26, 2013

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Book One in Maze Runner Series

Goodreads Review : When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every thirty days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers. 

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

My Rating : 4/5 stars.

My Review : When Thomas wakes up, all he can remember is his name. He is met by a bunch of boys that call themselves the gladers. They are all stuck inside a maze, they try their hardest to search for a way out, back into the real world. The doors to the maze open every morning, and close every night. Don't get stuck in the maze overnight, because those who do, never make it out.
This was an amazing dystopia novel, I loved all the characters, especially because they were so vastly different. There is no boring parts in this book, its filled with action and mystery. I definitely recommend it to the Dystopia Fans.

Lady Macbeth's Daughter by Lisa M. Klein

Goodreads Review : Albia has grown up with no knowledge of her mother of her father, the powerful Macbeth. Instead she knows the dark lure of the Wychelm Wood and the moors, where she’s been raised by three strange sisters. It’s only when the ambitious Macbeth seeks out the sisters to foretell his fate that Albia’s life becomes tangled with the man who leaves nothing but bloodshed in his wake. She even falls in love with Fleance, Macbeth’s rival for the throne. Yet when Albia learns that she has the second sight, she must decide whether to ignore the terrible future she foresees—or to change it. Will she be able to save the man she loves from her murderous father?  And can she forgive her parents their wrongs, or must she destroy them to save Scotland from tyranny?

In her highly anticipated follow-up to Ophelia, Lisa Klein delivers a powerful reimagining of Shakespeare’s Macbeth, featuring a young woman so seamlessly drawn it seems impossible she was not part of the Bard’s original play.

My Rating : 4/5 stars.

My Review : Such a lovely book!!!!
In this re-telling of Shakespeare's Macbeth. Lady Macbeth had a daughter, and of course Macbeth decided to get rid of her, because she wasn't the son he wanted. When the daughter was being sent to be killed, one of Lady Macbeth's servants decided to take her and raise her as her own child. What no one knew, was that this particular servant had 2 other sisters, which later pretended to be the 3 witches from the main story. This story revolves around Albia, and how she ended up at Fleance's house and how they fell in love. But Albia has a bigger mission in mind, she plans to kill her father, the evil Macbeth, even if it means death for her.
I definitely loved this book a lot. I loved the original story by Shakespeare, but of course I love this one more, since its told in the perspective of a teenage girl. 
I would definitely recommend this book to any fans of Shakespeare, especially his younger female fans.

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Book Two in Divergent Series

Goodreads Review : One choice can transform you, or destroy you.

Every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves, and herself, while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

My Rating : 4/5 stars.

My Review : I definitely had mixed emotions about this book. It was really good, but definitely not as good as Divergent.
Erudite has taken control over all the factions and the factionless. Abnegation has fallen, and Dauntless is just a mess. The main characters travel to a lot of different places in short amounts of time, which leads this book to be all over the place and jump from scene to scene. It was lovely getting to know the other factions that weren't really described in the previous books, but I felt like the characters were there too short for me to completely understand the faction. 
Tris and Four's relationship made me kind of angry. I know based on personal experiences that no relationship is perfect, there will always be fights and drama. But there was definitely too much of it in this book. I started hating every single moment they were fighting, which was a lot, and the scenes where they made up just didn't feel real enough. They were working against each other most of the time, instead of working together to solve their problems.
This book definitely had a lot of twists and turns, and it was pretty exciting. I would still recommend reading this book, but don't expect it to be as good as Divergent, you will get your hopes up. 
I'm hoping the next book is really amazing and blows my socks off. Fingers crossed.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Book One in Divergent Series

Goodreads Review : In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Debut author Veronica Roth bursts onto the literary scene with the first book in the Divergent series—dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.

My Rating : 5/5 stars.

My Review : One of the best Dystopian novels i have ever read.
The society in this book is divided into five factions or groups, there is Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). 
We follow the main character, her name is Beatrice, later on called Tris. She was brought up as an Abnegation alongside her brother and parents. When Tris takes the test to find out which faction she truly belongs in, her results come out strange. Everyone is only supposed to be categorized into one faction, but Tris is different, she was categorized into more than one, which makes her Divergent. Being Divergent puts he into a great danger, the government does not want Divergent people who they cannot control.
At the decision ceremony, Tris chooses to leave her family, and join the Dauntless faction. What she didn't know was that joining wasn't that easy, if she really wants to be dauntless, she has to go though initiation, and make it out alive.
This book definitely had a lot of action, and was always interesting. There were no boring parts to this book. The only thing that was hard to understand at first was the difference between the different factions and what it meant to be divergent at first, but in the end it got explained way more.
The author did a really good job with adding romance, and mystery to this book. The ending was just amazing and mind blowing. Great read to all the Dystopia lovers.

The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa

Book Four in Iron Fey Series

Goodreads Review : To cold faery prince Ash, love was a weakness for mortals and fools. His own love had died a horrible death, killing any gentler feelings the Winter prince might have had. Or so he thought.

Then Meghan Chase, a half human, half fey slip of a girl, smashed through his barricades, binding him to her irrevocably with his oath to be her knight. And when all of Faery nearly fell to the Iron fey, she severed their bond to save his life. Meghan is now the Iron Queen, ruler of a realm where no Winter or Summer fey can survive.

With the unwelcome company of his archrival, Summer Court prankster Puck, and the infuriating cait sith Grimalkin, Ash begins a journey he is bound to see through to its end, a quest to find a way to honor his vow to stand by Meghan's side.

To survive in the Iron Realm, Ash must have a soul and a mortal body. But the tests he must face to earn these things are impossible. And along the way Ash learns something that changes everything. A truth that challenges his darkest beliefs and shows him that, sometimes, it takes more than courage to make the ultimate sacrifice.

My Rating : 5/5 stars.

My Review : The last book in the Iron Fey series. And its written in Ash's point of view. This book is perfection on pages. No words can describe how beautiful this book is. From beginning to end I was captivated by Ash and how he expresses his love for Meghan, you can just tell he would do anything to be with her, no mater what the cost is. And when the biggest obstacle of all stands right in front of him, the reason for his life being miserable, he still knows to do the right thing. There is no character better than Ash.
And wherever Ash goes, Puck is there to help. He is such an amazing character, hes so funny, and you can tell how devoted and loving he is. If i knew him in real life, I'd totally marry him on the spot.
This book was filled with so much adventure, there wasn't a chapter that was boring. Such a great read.
Heaven, in words.

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

Book Three in Iron Fey Series

Goodreads Review : I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.

This time, there will be no turning back.

My Rating : 5/5 stars.

My Review : This book was truly amazing. Not a lot of books have the power to make me cry, but this one did. I love all the characters, they are just perfect. Especially Meghan, in this books she in more selfless and knows how to protect herself rather than being in need of rescue. So now not only is she smart, but also kick ass. I was so happy to see Puck and Ash getting along, I love them both. They are both so perfect. The love and action in this book just made it entertaining and thrilling throughout the whole book, I could not put it down once I got into it. 
Thank you Julie!

The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa

Book Two in Iron Fey Series

Goodreads Review : Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey—ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.

Worse, Meghan's own fey powers have been cut off. She's stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can't help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

My Rating : 5/5 stars.

My Review : The sequel to Julie Kagawa's Iron Daughter. This book definitely did not disappoint.
We left off with Meghan saving her brother, which led her to be taken as prisoner in the Winter Court. She was betrayed by the man she started to like, talk about getting your heart crushed. Not to mention, no one will believe her about the Iron Fey, and about the real danger that haunts the Nevernever. 

I have fallen in love with these books, and the world that they're in. The amount of detail the author has put in the writing is really incredible. It makes the words come off the page and it just makes it so easy to see it clearly in your head. I love the chemistry that the characters have together, you can tell just how they feel, yet there's a certain mystery to it. This book definitely had some heart breaking, and loving moments. Can't wait to read the next one.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...