Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Fury Frayed by Melissa Haag


Fury Frayed
Melissa Haag
Series: Of Fates and Furies, #1
Publication date: January 23rd 2018
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Synopsis: Megan’s temper lands her in Girderon Academy, an exclusive school founded in a town of misfit supernatural creatures. It’s the one place she should be able to fit in, but she can’t. Instead, she itches to punch the smug sheriff in his face, pull the hair from a pack of territorial blondes, and kiss the smile off the shy boy’s face. Unfortunately, she can’t do any of that, either, because humans are dying and all clues point to her.
With Megan’s temper flaring, time to find the real killer and clear her name is running out. As much as she wants to return to her own life, she needs to embrace who and what she is. It’s the only way to find and punish the creature responsible.
EXCERPT:
“WHAT WAS THAT FOR?” HE ASKED. ANGER HAD WIPED OUT ANY HINT OF MOCKING CURIOSITY FROM HIS TONE.
I COULD ALSO FEEL THE THROB IN MY FIST. HE HAD A HARD NOSE.
“TO SEE IF YOU WERE REAL.”
“MOST PEOPLE PINCH.” HE SOUNDED A BIT MORE NASALLY THAN HE HAD BEFORE.
MY IMAGINATION WAS SURE GOOD AT ADDING THE LITTLE DETAILS NEEDED TO MAKE THIS ALL FEEL REAL. I DIDN’T LET IT DISTRACT ME FROM THE MOMENT, THOUGH.
“MOST PEOPLE DON’T WALK AROUND IN SOMEONE ELSE’S BACKYARD WHILE BUTT NAKED.” NOT THAT I ACTUALLY MINDED THAT PART. HIS BICEPS WERE CLEARLY DEFINED, AND HIS THIGHS WERE THICKER THAN MY HEAD. REALIZING WHERE MY GAZE HAD WANDERED, I QUICKLY LOOKED UP AGAIN.
HE SHOOK HIS HEAD AND RELEASED MY WRIST.
“WHERE WERE YOU GOING?” HE ASKED.
“TO TOWN. DO YOU OWN PANTS?”
“IT WOULD BE BETTER IF YOU STAYED HERE.”
“FOR WHO?”
“YOU.”
“STAY IN A HOUSE WHERE A GUY SHOWS UP NAKED IN THE BACKYARD? YEAH, THAT’S NOT SOUNDING LIKE A GOOD OPTION.”
“IT’S THE SAFEST ONE.”
“OF COURSE, YOU WOULD THINK THAT. BUT SINCE THIS IS MY DREAM, I’M GOING TO SEE HOW MANY MORE NAKED MEN ARE FROLICKING AROUND THIS PLACE.”
HE STAYED QUIET FOR A MOMENT, STUDYING ME. I WAS JUST ABOUT TO TURN AND WALK TO THE FRONT OF THE HOUSE WHEN HE SPOKE AGAIN.
“THE PEOPLE IN THIS TOWN ARE GOING TO EAT YOU UP AND SPIT YOU OUT.”
WITHOUT WARNING, HE SCOOPED ME UP AND WALKED INTO THE HOUSE WITH ME. IN THE LIGHT OF THE KITCHEN, I STUDIED HIS FACE. HE LOOKED MAD, HIS JAW HARD AND A FROWN TUGGING HIS LIPS. VERY NICE LIPS. HIGH CHEEKBONES AND A STRONG NOSE. HIS GAZE FLICKED DOWN TO ME JUST BEFORE HE STARTED UP THE STAIRS. DEEP BLUE EYES. I HAD AMAZING TASTE IN DREAM MEN.
WHEN HE TURNED TO MY ROOM, MY HEART SKIPPED A BEAT. WAS I REALLY GOING TO DREAM THIS? A NAKED MAN CARRYING ME TO BED? I KNEW WHERE THIS WAS HEADED.


Author Bio:
I love writing paranormal and fantasy romance stories. After finishing up the Judgement of the Six series, I thought I was ready to trade in my broody shifter males for something bit more mythological. Wouldn’t you know it…a few shifters snuck in! But, I managed a healthy selection of other creatures that made this series truly unique for me.
Writing characters with realistic motivations in a fantasy world is always fun. Fury Frayed was no exception. I laughed so many times while writing the first draft and again during the editing process. I hope you enjoy reading it just as much as I enjoyed writing it!

XBTBanner1

Monday, January 22, 2018

Review: The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King

Series: The Hundredth Queen #1
Publication Date: June 1st, 2017
Publisher: Skyscrape
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: He wanted a warrior queen. He got a revolutionary.

As an orphan ward of the Sisterhood, eighteen-year-old Kalinda is destined for nothing more than a life of seclusion and prayer. Plagued by fevers, she’s an unlikely candidate for even a servant’s position, let alone a courtesan or wife. Her sole dream is to continue living in peace in the Sisterhood’s mountain temple.

But a visit from the tyrant Rajah Tarek disrupts Kalinda’s life. Within hours, she is ripped from the comfort of her home, set on a desert trek, and ordered to fight for her place among the rajah’s ninety-nine wives and numerous courtesans. Her only solace comes in the company of her guard, the stoic but kind Captain Deven Naik.

Faced with the danger of a tournament to the death—and her growing affection for Deven—Kalinda has only one hope for escape, and it lies in an arcane, forbidden power buried within her.
 

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
The Hundredth Queen is a beautiful and captivating novel. It is a wonderful start to a fantastic new series.

Kalinda never expected to be claimed by a benefactor, she not particularly pretty or a skilled fighter. So when Rajah Tarek claims Kalinda as his 100th and final wife, everyone is shocked on why he picked her. Thrust into a life she never wanted, Kalinda must now battle any of his other wives or courtesans who want to steal her spot, or just kill her. To make matters worse, a burner has been following Kalinda as she makes her way to the palace, and won't stop until he gets to her.

This novel was great! I really enjoyed most of it. There were a few things that could have been changed to make the book more enjoyable, but it was pretty close to being perfect.

Kalinda is a wonderful main character. Her story is that of the typical underdog, and girl who realizes that she actually has powers, who must go on a quest. Her character development is also great, you see her going from a weak and insecure girl, to actually coming into herself and realizing just how amazing and powerful she can be. I absolutely loved Kalinda and reading from her point of view.

The romance is something I had a problem with in this book. First of all, there is insta love! If you know me, you know that I dislike it very much because it is so unrealistic that two people will both fall in love the first time they meet and their relationships work out. Yet that is exactly what happens to Kalina and Deven, and while I loved the whole princess and her guard trope, the insta love really put me off.

Before I started reading this book, I heard a lot of people mentioning that it has tons of girl on girl hate, but when I actually read the book I didn't really see it. Yes, there are females pinned to fight against one another in the arena, which is an unfortunate part of the culture of this book, but near the end Kalinda tries to get the women to band together. I think if the main character didn't try to put a stop to this, and she wasn't constantly talking about how wrong all of it was, then yes it would have been a lot of girl on girl hate, but it was just another part of the story, and it honestly made Kalinda's character even better for putting a stop to it.

The world building in this book was fantastic! The world that Emily King created was very unique and creative. It was really nice to get away from the typical americanized type of books.
The characters explore many areas, and the authors descriptions of the palace and the land were very clear and enjoyable!

The plot of the story was really good. There were a few parts of the story that were incredibly predictable, which was a bit unfortunate, but other than that the story and the pace was written really well.

If the book wasn't as predictable, and there was no insta-love, I would have definitely given this book 5 stars, it was honestly really close. I still highly recommend this book to all YA Fantasy fans, especially if you like books like The Bone Witch or The Wrath and the Dawn.

Happy Reading,
Aneta

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Review: S.T.A.G.S. by M.A. Bennett

Series: (Possible Sequel based on ending?)
Publication Date: February 13th 2018
Publisher: Delacrote Press
Genre: YA, Thriller, Contemporary 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: =One deadly weekend.

At St. Aidan the Great School, or S.T.A.G.S., new things--and new people--are to be avoided. Unfortunately, Greer MacDonald, token scholarship student, is very much a new person. She has just transferred to S.T.A.G.S., and finds herself ignored at best and mocked at worst by the school's most admired circle of friends, the Medievals.

So imagine Greer's surprise when this very group invites her to an exclusive weekend retreat at the private estate of the parents of their unofficial leader, Henry de Warlencourt. It's billed as a weekend of "huntin' shootin' fishin'," and rumor has it that the invitee who most impresses the group will be given the privilege of becoming a Medieval themselves.

As the weekend begins to take shape, however, it becomes apparent that beyond the luxurious trappings--the fancy clothes the maid lays out on Greer's bed, the elaborate multicourse dinners held in the Great Hall--there are predators lurking, and they're out for blood. . . .
 

My Rating
2/5 stars

My Review
I thought I was really going to enjoy S.T.A.G.S. but I was just left very disappointed from beginning to end. 

First of all, the book starts off in past-tense from the main character, Greer's point of view. In the beginning, she mentions that a certain individual was killed and that she and a few others were the murderers, then she dives into the story from how she got to the school. Normally this type of thing works really well in mystery novels, where they reveal the killer in the beginning but then start the story and theres always some type of crazy plot twist. Yet this book didn't really have a plot twist, and I honestly think it revealed way too much at the beginning. It left me bored and not wanting to read the book, since I already knew what was going to happen.

The main character Greer, was alright in the beginning, but eventually I just ended up not liking her at all. She talks about how she's different, and she wants to be herself rather than worshiping the medievals and being just like them, but throughout her trip she slowly starts becoming more and more like them, obviously not the rich part, but the snobby, I think I'm better than everyone, evil kind of way. It honestly felt like her character development was going backwards, rather than forwards.

The romance in this book was absolutely horrible! In the beginning of the book, Greer mentions how much she dislikes Henry and the other medievals, but of course she ends up falling for him and his tricks the first moment he shows her any type of affection. Greer was described as a smart girl in this book, but man was she dumb for falling for this guy. Then of course she is so blinded by her love for Henry after he calls her beautiful once, that she can't even see that there is someone who actually likes her for real, until he says it out loud. Even then, it was kind of like where the heck did this come from? It was just not written very well.

The writing was alright, but wasn't the best either. If the book didn't do the "mystery" aspect of revealing that someone dies in the end, the action would have been really good. But of course since it was spoiled, it wasn't the best. The world-building was good, there were lots of good descriptions of the school and the mansion and all the land it contained. 

The reason why I'm giving this book two stars instead of one, is because of the ending. I found it absolutely hilarious, even though it wasn't meant to be funny at all. So in the end, Greer realized the mistake she made in trusting someone, who ended up being the "most evil" person in the book. I think this was supposed to be a "plot twist" but you could see it from a mile away!! In this moment, Greer was actually shook when she realized what was really going on, and I thought her stupidity was the funniest thing ever. For an elite school for super smart kids, you'd think they'd figure this stuff out.

Overall, I would not call this book a thriller or mystery at all. Although it was definitely not the book for me, if you've read previous books that sound like this and want to give them a try, then I'd say go for it, but if you find yourself bored in the beginning like I was, just give up. 

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing a copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review. 

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Cover Reveal: Covet by Micalea Smeltzer


Covet
Micalea Smeltzer
Series: Enchanted #2
Publication date: TBA
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Synopsis: On the run from the Iniquitous, Mara feels lost and helpless. Without Theo by her side she’s left bare and vulnerable, but she’s a fighter and, with blood boiling in her veins, she vows to avenge him.
The Iniquitous have already taken so much from her, and she refuses to sit back and let them take anything else. She trains harder, preparing herself physically and mentally to take them on. As her magic grows stronger, so does the voice speaking to her from beyond the grave.
She wants to believe it’s real, to give in to what feels right, but if she does, her mind might be lost forever.
Sequel to:


Author Bio:
Hi. I’m Micalea. Ma-call-e-uh. Weird name, I know. My mom must’ve known I was going to be odd even in the womb. I’ve written a lot of books. Like a lot. Don’t ask me how many, I don’t remember at this point. I have an unhealthy addiction to Diet Coke but I can’t seem to break the habit. I listen to way too much music and hedgehogs have taken over my life. Crazy is the word that best sums up my life, but it’s the good kind of crazy and I wouldn’t change it for anything.

XBTBanner1

Waiting on Wednesday: The Traitor's Game by Jennifer A. Nielsen


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: The Traitor's Game #1
Publication Date: February 27th 2018
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD 

Synopsis: Nothing is as it seems in the kingdom of Antora. Kestra Dallisor has spent three years in exile in the Lava Fields, but that won't stop her from being drawn back into her father's palace politics. He's the right hand man of the cruel king, Lord Endrick, which makes Kestra a valuable bargaining chip. A group of rebels knows this all too well -- and they snatch Kestra from her carriage as she reluctantly travels home.

The kidnappers want her to retrieve the lost Olden Blade, the only object that can destroy the immortal king, but Kestra is not the obedient captive they expected. Simon, one of her kidnappers, will have his hands full as Kestra tries to foil their plot, by force, cunning, or any means necessary. As motives shift and secrets emerge, both will have to decide what -- and who -- it is they're fighting for.

Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine in this epic tale of treachery and intrigue, love and deceit.

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Cover Reveal: Inimical by Genevieve Iseult Eldredge


Inimical
Genevieve Iseult Eldredge
Series: Circuit Fae, #3
Published by: Monster House Books
Publication date: September 18th 2018
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Young Adult

Synopsis: Being a fairy princess isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, especially when you have to choose between saving your people…And killing your girlfriend. Oh, and let’s not forget having to pass summer school, too.
Talk about a hot mess.
First, there’s Rouen, princess of the dark Fae, goth-rock star Euphoria, and soon-to-be senior at Richmond Elite High. Her world is all things ice, snow, and death. And that death will include her own people unless she can defeat her evil father in a Battle of Wits and War and seize the throne. Trouble is, taking the throne is a death sentence for the princess of the fair Fae. In other words, a quick death for Syl, Rouen’s girlfriend.
And that’s so not good.
Second, there’s Syl, princess of the fair Fae, geek girl mathlete, and also an incoming senior. Things aren’t any easier for her. Syl must save her people by battling her old nemesis, the fair Fae prince, and the same rules apply: taking the throne means a death sentence for the other court’s princess, Rouen.
Even worse, Syl and Rouen’s enemies have figured out they’re a couple. Now, both Rouen’s father and Syl’s archenemy are teaming up to ensure neither of them makes it till Midsummer’s Day never mind to the fall semester.
Looks like passing summer school is the least of their worries.
Grab book 1 – Moribund – for 99¢ for a limited time only!

Author Bio:
Raised by witches and dragons in the northern wilds, GIE writes angsty urban fantasy YA romance--where girls who are mortal enemies kick butt, take names, and fall in love against all odds.
She enjoys long hikes in the woods (where better to find the fair folk?), believing in fairies (in fact, she's clapping right now), dancing with dark elves (always wear your best shoes), being a self-rescuing princess (hello, black belt!), and writing diverse books about teenage girls finding love, romance, and their own inner power.
She might be planning high tea at the Fae Court right now.
GIE is multi-published, and in her role as an editor has helped hundreds of authors make their dream of being published a reality.

XBTBanner1

Monday, January 15, 2018

Book Blitz & Giveaway: The Shadow Weave by Annette Marie


The Shadow Weave
Annette Marie
Series: Spell Weaver #2
Publication date: January 12th 2018
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy

Synopsis: Clio might be a nymph living in exile among humans. And she might possess the rare ability to mimic any magic she sees. And she might have just seriously ticked off the most powerful family of spell weavers in the Underworld.
But she is not in love with an incubus.
Lyre is the rebellious black sheep of said weaver family, and he’s the only reason she survived her recent Underworld “vacation.” He’s also the sexiest thing she’s ever seen. Together, they have to track down a catastrophically dangerous magic—a magic he created, she sort of stole, and they both lost—before his family gets their hands on it. And that means fighting alongside him in a desperate attempt to avert complete disaster.
But she is definitely not in love with him. At least, she’s pretty sure she’s not.
Mostly sure. Maybe sure? …Crap.
EXCERPT:
As though summoned by her thoughts, the sex fiend himself breezed into the room. Hair damp and tousled, the kind of face that made women’s hearts skip, broad shoulders that tapered to a toned torso. His tattered clothes should have ruined the look, but they added an extra edge—dangerous and exotic.
The others in the kitchen noticed his arrival, but they dismissed him just as quickly. Unlike most daemons, incubi were easy to recognize even in glamour. No other caste possessed that stunning combination of golds—white-gold hair, warm golden skin, vibrant irises like a dark patina over rich yellow gold.
Yes, they recognized him as an incubus—and they didn’t bother to hide their curling lips and wrinkling noses. Lyre either didn’t notice or didn’t care as he swept over to her, his expression brightening for the first time in two days.
“Clio,” he purred, voice too low for even keen-eared strangers to hear, “your powers of seduction would put any succubus to shame.”
She blinked at him, the bowl of whisked eggs in her hands and a hot pan sizzling in front of her. His mood was so different from earlier that she couldn’t quite grasp it.
“Huh?” she managed. How articulate.
“This is entirely unfair. I have no power to resist such tactics.” He waited a beat. “Are you planning to do something with those eggs?”
She blinked again, trying to unscramble her brain. Scramble. Right, the eggs. She dumped the mixture into the hot pan. “What are you going on about, Lyre?”
“Bacon,” he sighed dreamily. “Pancakes. Scrambled eggs. You slay me, my love.”
On the words “my love,” her heart screeched to a stop so fast it might have left skid marks on her ribs. It kicked back into gear at three times its previous speed and she concentrated so hard on the spatula that she almost went cross-eyed. “You—you can’t be that excited about my cooking. You don’t even know if it’s any good.”
“I can tell already. It’ll be delicious.”
She shivered. The way he said that word should be illegal. As she hurriedly stirred the eggs with a spatula, he stood so close he was almost touching her, his body angled toward her as though she held his entire attention. But his gaze, sliding coolly from one watching daemon to another, was distinctly unfriendly.
She scraped the eggs off the pan, then rescued the bacon from the oven—triggering a stir among the waiting daemons. With her bottom lip caught between her teeth, she pulled a plate from the cupboard, loaded it with food, and held it out to Lyre. She’d cooked an elaborate late-night breakfast to cheer him up, but now second thoughts were crowding her brain. Too late to change her plan now.
His smile only fueled her blush as he fished a fork out of a nearby drawer, loaded it with eggs, and scooped them into his mouth. She held her breath. The entire room went silent.
His eyes rolled back in ecstasy. “So good,” he moaned.
Bang.
She jerked around. The female daemon had dropped her heavy book on the floor. As everyone looked over at her, pink tinged the woman’s cheeks. She snatched up her book and beat a hasty retreat out of the room.
Clio swallowed hard, envious of the woman’s ability to flee. Lyre’s moan had been so sensual it had been downright scandalous, and if Clio didn’t put space between them soon, she was going to start swooning like a complete fool.


Author Bio:
Annette Marie is the author of the Amazon best-selling Steel & Stone series, which includes Goodreads Choice Award nominee Yield the Night, and fantasy trilogy Red Winter. Her first love is fantasy, but fast-paced adventures and tantalizing forbidden romances are her guilty pleasures. She lives in the frozen winter wasteland of Alberta, Canada (okay, it's not quite that bad) with her comparatively sensible husband and their furry minion of darkness—sorry, cat— Caesar. When not writing, she can be found elbow-deep in one art project or another while blissfully ignoring all adult responsibilities.

XBTBanner1

Friday, January 12, 2018

Book Blitz & Giveaway: Slumber by Christy Sloat


If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful book by Author Christy Sloat, be sure to check out all the details below.

This blitz also includes a giveaway for a finished copy of the book courtesy or Christy. and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.

Title: SLUMBER
Series: Slumber Duology #1
Author: Christy Sloat
Pub. Date: January 12, 2018
Publisher: CHBB Publishing 
Pages: 234
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Find it: AmazonB&NTBDGoodreads

Synopsis: Not all princesses get their happily ever after...



They tell me I killed my boyfriend Phillip in cold blood. I stabbed him twenty one times. I’m only seventeen years old, and I am serving life in Spindle Ridge Asylum for the Criminally Insane.

I don’t remember killing him, so it’s really hard to believe I’m capable of murder. In fact I don’t remember anything before I came to Spindle Ridge, not even my boyfriend.



I can only grasp onto my realistic dreams while the madness of the asylum threatens to pull me under. I dream I’m a beautiful princess and there is an evil faerie named Maleficent who is bent on my destruction. The dreams are the closest thing I have to memories of my life, except they aren’t real.



I’m crazy. I’m not a princess.



They’re the mad illusions of an irrational teenage girl, right?



They’ve assigned me a new doctor, and she says I can trust her, and that she’ll help me see the truth of who I really am.

When she arrived she brought a new patient, Sawyer, who is everything Spindle Ridge isn’t: exciting, mysterious and beautiful. He promises he’s here to rescue me. Trusting either of them frightens me.



Could it be possible that my dreams are more than just the imaginings of a delusional girl? Could they be truth?



Excerpt:

I woke in the middle of the night hearing screams fill the air. This was not uncommon at all, but tonight I wasn’t expecting it. Normally when Adele’s meds are changed, she wakes screaming that she can’t sleep. Adele’s room is across from mine. She is roughly in her twenties and I never learned how she ended up here. I try not to talk to the other patients. I don’t know why it is, but I don’t fit in with these people. To them I’m the murderer and they tend to think less of me. That’s fine. I am what they say I am. That’s why I’m here, right?

They told me I stabbed my boyfriend, Phillip, but I don’t remember doing it. I actually don’t remember Phillip at all. No recollection of having been in a relationship either. I must have killed him or else I wouldn’t be in Spindle Ridge.

Dr. Altman says that I have to believe that I did it or we will never get anywhere. I’ll admit it’s hard to believe that these hands could stab a person twenty times. No matter how I imagined it, it is always hard to believe. 

I sat up listening hard for the screams. When they came again I noticed they were not female, they were male. The screams were deeper and reached a longer distance than Adele’s cries ever could. I wondered if the whole building could hear him.

I pulled my covers up over my neck and covered my face. I just wanted to sleep and fall back into the dream I was having. It was beautiful, and if I had my way, I would stay there forever.

Wait!

I sat up fast. Closing my eyes, I tried to remember the dream to the last second. It wasn’t the same dream as the one’s prior. This dream was different! This dream was me and a boy.

I never dreamt of anyone but my parents and the evil woman. The dream’s soft lullaby came back to me as I remembered where I was.

The smell of fresh grass came across my senses.

The sky so blue as I lay on a blanket. I rolled over and saw the face of a boy. He was everything that Spindle Ridge wasn’t; he was beautiful. He had long, shaggy, but not unruly, hair that touched his collar. When he smiled at me, he looked like a boy in love. In love with me.

“Get up you lazy sack!”

I opened my eyes and was pulled back into the now. I was forced to leave the dream behind as I was being pulled out of bed by two nurses.

About Christy: 

I am Southern California native, now living in New Jersey! How did that happen? I am married and have  two beautiful little girls who love to read just like Mommy. I have had a passion for books since I was a little girl and an imagination for just as long. I hope my books can inspire others to read and to write too.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads












Giveaway Details:
1 winner will win a finished copy of SLUMBER US Only.


Thursday, January 11, 2018

Review: The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Publisher: Flatiron
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get: her mother is stolen away―by a figure who claims to come from the Hinterland, the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother's stories are set. Alice's only lead is the message her mother left behind: “Stay away from the Hazel Wood.”

Alice has long steered clear of her grandmother’s cultish fans. But now she has no choice but to ally with classmate Ellery Finch, a Hinterland superfan who may have his own reasons for wanting to help her. To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother's tales began―and where she might find out how her own story went so wrong.

My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
The Hazel Wood was a mesmerizing novel. This standalone is filled with amazing characters, a great plot line and a creative story.

Alice has lived her whole life on the road with her mother. Desperate to try to get away from Alice's famous grandmother and her cult following of her book, Alice's mother left in order to find a better place for both of them. Every time Alice and her mother stay in one place too long, bad luck seems to follow them. When the news of Alice's grandmother's passing, Alice and her mother decide it is time to settle down and stay in one place, but when Alice's mother is taken hostage, Alice must follow the clues left for her, and figure out her grandmother's secrets in order to get her mother back.

This story is basically about a parallel world called the Hinterland. Alice's grandmother was able to travel there in her youth and come back. She then published the stories from the other world into our own. But the characters in Hinterland don't like their stories stolen, and do their best to erase all evidence the book ever existed.

I loved how unique and creative this book was. It was basically a story book, inside a novel. Not only do you get to read from Alice's point of view, but you also get to hear the stories from her grandmother's book. The stories and all very interesting and a bit creepy at times, but so wonderful to read. I honestly loved both aspects of the story, although it kind of feels like two separate books once Alice ventures into the Hazel Wood.

I loved Alice as the main character. She was smart, sassy, and so determined. You could just tell how much love she had for her mother, and that she would go to any length to get her back. Her bravery really shows later on in the book. 

The story was a bit slow at first, when we mostly just learn about Alice's past with her mother on the road, but once Alice's mother is kidnapped the story really picks up, and its hard to put down.

I adore the ending in this book. It is not your typical cliche type of ending. You can tell the author put a lot of though on how this book will end, and she did an amazing job.

Overall, this book was amazing and I would definitely recommend it to all YA fantasy fans. If you've read/watched Inkheart and loved it, then you will definitely need to read this book.

Happy Reading,
Aneta 

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.
Series: The Belles #1
Publication Date: February 6th 2018
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Genre: YA, Fantasy 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Camellia Beauregard is a Belle. In the opulent world of Orléans, Belles are revered, for they control Beauty, and Beauty is a commodity coveted above all else. In Orléans, the people are born gray, they are born damned, and only with the help of a Belle and her talents can they transform and be made beautiful.

But it’s not enough for Camellia to be just a Belle. She wants to be the favorite—the Belle chosen by the Queen of Orléans to live in the royal palace, to tend to the royal family and their court, to be recognized as the most talented Belle in the land. But once Camellia and her Belle sisters arrive at court, it becomes clear that being the favorite is not everything she always dreamed it would be. Behind the gilded palace walls live dark secrets, and Camellia soon learns that the very essence of her existence is a lie—that her powers are far greater, and could be more dangerous, than she ever imagined. And when the queen asks Camellia to risk her own life and help the ailing princess by using Belle powers in unintended ways, Camellia now faces an impossible decision. 

With the future of Orléans and its people at stake, Camellia must decide—save herself and her sisters and the way of the Belles—or resuscitate the princess, risk her own life, and change the ways of her world forever.

Monday, January 8, 2018

Review: Busted by Gina Ciocca

Publication Date: January 2nd 2018
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: YA, Contemporary, 
Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ TBD

Synopsis: Catching cheaters and liars is a lucrative hobby—until you fall for one of the suspects. Perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, this new novel from the author of Last Year's Mistake will steal your heart!
Marisa never planned to be a snoop for hire. It wasn't like she wanted to catch her best friend's boyfriend making out with another girl. But as her reputation for sniffing out cheaters spreads all over school, Marisa finds herself the reluctant queen of busting two-timing boys. 
And her next case? It's for ex-frenemy Kendall. She's convinced her boyfriend, TJ, has feelings for someone else and persuades Marissa to start spying on him. But the more Marisa gets to know sincere and artistic TJ, the more she starts to fall for him. Worse yet, the feelings seem to be mutual. Marisa knows she needs to give up her investigation—and the spoken-for guy who may just be the love of her life. Then she uncovers new secrets about Kendall and TJ, secrets that take "cheater" to a whole new level...
My Rating
4/5 stars

My Review
Busted was a fantastic read. I got so invested in the story that I had to finish it as soon as I could because I just needed to know what happens next.

Like any good friend, Marisa has her best friend Charlotte's back. So when she catches her friend's boyfriend with another girl, she will do anything to snap a picture of him in the act to prove to her best friend that he is a cheater. When news gets around about what Marisa did for her best friend, other girls want in, and Marisa becomes Reverse Cupid, private investigator. But when an old friend hires her to spy on her boyfriend, Marisa can't help but catch feelings for the supposed cheater. Can Marisa bust her old friends cheater, before someones busts her?

Going into this book, I was a bit worried that it would be predictable and have lots of cliches, but I was happily surprised about how this book ended turning out. This book deals with a lot of different issues, other than just falling in love with a boy you're not supposed to. It also focuses on issues like online bullying, friendship, family, college, and cheating (not only on your significant other, but also in school).

Marisa was a fantastic main character. She is brave, smart, down to earth and extremely friendly. She has really great friends, and will do anything to keep them. You know her friendship is real because her and her friends don't get in little fights, they are quick to see each other's point of view and make up. Her relationship with her family is also very important, she has a fantastic relationship with her brother, and it was so lovely to read a book where the brother and sister are friends rather than enemies for once. We didn't get to see to much of her mother and father, but when we did she was very polite and kind to them as well. The thing I loved most about Marisa is that while she was very smart and got accepted to a better school, her parents afford to send her there, yet Marisa didn't hold a grudge or didn't act like a spoiled brat. Sure she was disappointed, but she understood why. It is so wonderful to see such a capable character who is also understanding of her parents. There were times where Marisa's character was a bit naive, but by the end of the book she definitely learned her lesson, making her an even better character all together. 

The plot of this story mostly focuses around the mystery aspect of trying to catch the 'cheater' and later on about catching the person who framed Marisa's best friend. So if you're not really into a mystery read, then there wont be too much action for you until the very end of the book. While I enjoyed it, I know a few people might not.

Other than the slow beginning, the only thing I didn't like about the book was that it left me with questions about what happens after the book ends. A lot of the focus of the book was Marisa writing an essay about her experience to get a scholarship that could send her to her college of choice, since her parents cant afford to send her there. But we end the book shortly after Marisa submits the essay, and we never find out if she got the scholarship, or if she got to go to her college of choice. While its not a huge deal, the book does focus on college a bit, and it seemed weird not to include if she got in or not.

Overall, I highly recommend this book to all YA contemporary and mystery fans. This will be a cute and short read that you will definitely enjoy. I cant wait to read future books from this author.

Happy Reading,
Aneta

Saturday, January 6, 2018

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews. With this amazing meme, you can check out which books I've gotten.

From Publisher
To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo
Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most—a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian’s heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever.

The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavory hobby—it’s his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she’s more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good—But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind’s greatest enemy?

That's all for this week. What did you guys get?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...